Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

TimeTripper» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question on Rapid Fire and Burst Fire Rule rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Schacher

Spring
Texas
msg tools
mbmbmb
The only explanation for rapid and burst fire rules is in the notes on the Weapon Chart:

Mode of fire: Rapid - may fire up to four times into the same hex or into four adjacent hexes, one after another; after *each* firing two dice must be rolled to determine if weapon is out of ammunition. Burst - same as rapid except...

The question is: should rapid fire only be allowed into adjacent hexes of the initial targeted hex, or be allowed into any adjacent hex of the one just fired into?

I think that the tripper should be allowed to "sweep" the fire into a line of hexes, not just a cluster around the first hex fired into. Imagine a line of soldiers rather than a group of soldiers around a common central hex. Should the tripper be allowed to move from hex to to adjacent hex in a line in order to sweep across the battlefield, or must he be limited to a circle around the first hex fired into?

Furthermore, can the tripper, on subsequent firings, fire into an adjacent hex that is empty in order to fire into another hex adjacent to the empty hex that is occupied, subject to running out of ammo, or is he limited to only firing into hexes that are occupied?

Steve
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Love
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmb
It has been years since I played Time Tripper, but we always permitted the "sweep" as you described it. In other words, the next shot must be into a hex adjacent (or the same as) the previous shot, but not necessarily adjacent to the first hex. We also played that you could "fire" at an empty hex to get to another target adjacent to the empty hex. The cost of this tactic, as you note, is the possibility of running out of ammo.

-Peter
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.