Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Onirim (second edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do you have to resolve Lost Dreams as you do Nightmares? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Liosatos
United States
Palatine
IL - Illinois
flag msg tools
The expansion rule book states that Lost Dreams are Dreams and all rules that apply to Dream cards apply to Lost Dreams. Nightmares are dreams too. In the basic rule book it says to resolves dreams by one of four methods.... So.... Are Lost Dreams to be resolved this way too when drawn?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jānis Rudzītis
Latvia
Jūrmala
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rulebook of the base game (p.8) says:
Fill your hand -
"It is a Dream card. You have to resolve the effect of this card immediately."
The rulebook of expansions (p.6) says:
"When you draw or reveal a Lost Dream card, put it immediately in the Limbo pile."
BTW, you can compare this with the "Sphinx, Diver, and Confusion" promo expansion
http://www.zmangames.com/uploads/4/7/1/7/47170931/onirim_pro...
In all cases, when a Dream (e.g., the Diver) card is resolved as a Nightmare card, it is stated clearly -
If you reveal a Nightmare card, return all revealed cards to the bottom of the deck, in the order of your choice, including the Nightmare card. You must then resolve the Diver card as if you had just drawn a Nightmare card.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin G
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
badge
Don't fall in love with me yet, we only recently met
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nightmares and Lost Dreams are both types of Dream card. But the rules in the base game are specifically for resolving Nightmares, not for all Dreams.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark L
United Kingdom
Belfast
Northern Ireland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
JLiosatos wrote:
In the basic rule book it says to resolves dreams by one of four methods....

The English rules don't actually say that. They say you must resolve a Dream card as soon as you draw it, and that Nightmares are the only type of Dream card in the base game. Then they say:

Rulebook, p9 wrote:
When you draw a Nightmare card, you have to choose one of the following four options

(Emphasis mine.) So it seems clear that these four methods apply only to Nightmares.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorge
Switzerland
Lausanne
Vaud
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
xipuloxx wrote:
The English rules don't actually say that. They say you must resolve a Dream card as soon as you draw it, and that Nightmares are the only type of Dream card in the base game. Then they say:

Rulebook, p9 wrote:
When you draw a Nightmare card, you have to choose one of the following four options

(Emphasis mine.) So it seems clear that these four methods apply only to Nightmares.
That's exactly the case. When you draw a Dream card, you have to resolve it immediately. Dream cards are:

1. Nightmares (0. Base Game)
2. Lost Dreams (3. The Dreamtachers)
3. Happy Dreams (5. Happy Dreams & Dark Premonitions)
4. Denizens (7. The Door to the Oniverse)
5. Sphinx, Diver and Confusion (Promos)

The effect of a Lost Dream is: put it in the Limbo pile. That simple. Nightmares are the cards that force you to lose a Door, discard your hand, etc.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.