Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

One Deck Dungeon» Forums » Rules

Subject: What's up with Dungeon Cards? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Josh Breese
msg tools
For example, Dragon's Cave.

It says ti spend 5 time before I start on each floor, Does that mean, right off the bat, I spend 7 time before I even begin?

Also, what's up with the 2 shield on the left on the first floor? Do I need to fill those before I descend so I dont lose 3 hearts on the right?

I don't see anything in the rule book about it.

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Cieslik
United States
Arlington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Banana!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It does mean you spend 5 time before your first turn, yes.

The boxes on the left and right side are Dungeon Challenge Boxes, explained on p8 and p14 -- the left side is used in Peril Encounters, the right side in Combat Encounters. They're extra boxes that get added to each.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew M
United States
New Haven
Connecticut
flag msg tools
admin
8/8 FREE, PROTECTED
badge
513ers Assemble!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The box(es) on the left are added to every peril encounter.

The box(es) on the right are added to every monster encounter.

The middle section is special text for the dungeon. In the case of the Dragon Cave you spend an additional 5 time first thing on each level - so yes, 7 time before you do anything. It makes the Dragon Cave a relative short dungeon compared to others.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Snyder
United States
Zanesville
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Check out the most recent video by gamezmadeez - it will really help you.

cephalopoid wrote:
For example, Dragon's Cave.
It says ti spend 5 time before I start on each floor, Does that mean, right off the bat, I spend 7 time before I even begin?


Yes! And you will do that for floors 2&3 as well as they accumulate.

cephalopoid wrote:


Also, what's up with the 2 shield on the left on the first floor? Do I need to fill those before I descend so I dont lose 3 hearts on the right?


The left side is active for peril rooms and the right side for combat. Think of that as extra icons on the card that must be filled. So on floor 1 facing a peril, you need to cover that 2 with any die. In combat you need to cover the 3 with a die or take 1 damage.

Like above with abilities, they stack. So floor 2 perils have a shield of 2 that must be covered first and a 6 that must be covered to avoid 1 damage. Floor 2 combat has a 3 to be covered to avoid 1 damage and a blue 5 to be covered to avoid 2 damage, and all of that is in addition to what is on the card.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Breese
msg tools
Got it! Thanks all!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Chiappa
United States
lincoln park
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Are you sure about stacking ? cause i cant find any reference in the rules about that and in the dungeon card each row list floor 1,floor 2,ect...

and btw when you fight the final boss do you have to consider any of these ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Baltimore
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mad_albin wrote:
Are you sure about stacking ? cause i cant find any reference in the rules about that and in the dungeon card each row list floor 1,floor 2,ect...

and btw when you fight the final boss do you have to consider any of these ?


Page 30:

"...along with all visible boxes on the right side of the Dungeon Card"

"...along with all visible boxes on the left side of the Dungeon Card"

So yes, each floor requirement is an addition to previous requirements.



Page 35:

"Boxes and effects on the Dungeon Card do not affect the Boss Battle."
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Chiappa
United States
lincoln park
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Einmal ist keinmal
United States
Andover
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Non fui, fui, non sum, non curo
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kirkowitz wrote:
Mad_albin wrote:
Are you sure about stacking ? cause i cant find any reference in the rules about that and in the dungeon card each row list floor 1,floor 2,ect...

and btw when you fight the final boss do you have to consider any of these ?


Page 30:

"...along with all visible boxes on the right side of the Dungeon Card"

"...along with all visible boxes on the left side of the Dungeon Card"

So yes, each floor requirement is an addition to previous requirements.


Ugh. I missed this rule, but I'm fairly certain I got everything else. Can't believe this wasn't mentioned in the "commonly missed rules" thread.

In any case, the game is hard enough on the Dragon dungeon setting. I can't imagine it being possible to win when playing with this rule correctly unless you just get incredibly lucky rolls.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.