Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

A Victory Lost: Crisis in Ukraine 1942-1943» Forums » Rules

Subject: Retreat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Say I must retreat 2 spaces, and I have 2 options:

- retreat 2 spaces into a ZOC (for a step loss), or
- retreat 2 spaces onto a stack (forcing a retreat of another space)

Which takes precedence? Does 9.5.2 allow me to take the longer retreat to avoid the ZOC?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Poochie D
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
ekted wrote:
Does 9.5.2 allow me to take the longer retreat to avoid the ZOC?

Yes, that's the way I've always interpreted it. You would take the second option that causes the overstack because it avoids an enemy ZOC.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Greensboro
NC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Indeed, "avoid enemy ZOC" is the retreat rule having the highest priority and is applied first.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Lawson
United States
Rutland
Vermont
flag msg tools
I drink and I know things
badge
Night gathers and now my watch begins
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What do you do if your completely surrounded by enemy units (not just zones of control)and there is a retreat result.I couldn't find this in the rules any where.I reduced the units each a step.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Starkweather
United States
Commack
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you can't retreat for any reason, your units die. There is no conversion to step losses in this game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Lawson
United States
Rutland
Vermont
flag msg tools
I drink and I know things
badge
Night gathers and now my watch begins
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks (only took about ten minutes) I thought step reduction didn't seem like enough.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.