Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
16 Posts

Age of Empires III: The Age of Discovery» Forums » General

Subject: Running Out of Colonists rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christine Biancheria
United States
Pittsburgh
PA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My good buddy monkey8 and his brother taught me this game yesterday, and I thought it was great. However, one player ran out of regular colonists (in a 4-player game), and I came very, very close. Does this happen often? I am thinking of buying it, and wanted to know how common that was. Thanks!

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Albritton
United States
Tupelo
Mississippi
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Are you covering up the correct number of Colonist Dock spots? In a four player game you should only have 7 spots available.

So if you are the only player taking advantage of the Colonist Dock and get 4+ colonists a turn in there, I could see how you would run short. Are you getting back your colonists from the other boxes after they are resolved?

Discovery only gets you one colonist and the rest of the party is discarded back to the pool.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Galactic Doug
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
I think that somewhere in the manual it states you can exchange some colonists from the lands you control with specialists like the Captains Merchants and Missionaries.
Everyone should be in the know that your newly acquired piece is nothing but 2 colonists and has no special abilities.

We exchange them when we get low just like exchanging 10 Pieces of Eight for 1 Gold Doubloon to save space.

This has kept the game moving throughout the remaining couple of turns.

GD
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Albritton
United States
Tupelo
Mississippi
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Doug, you have this backwards:

From the rules: "Note: With the exception of soldiers, once a specialist arrives in the New World he no longer conveys any benefits. Specialists are
not designed to be a limited commodity so if a player wishes, the
specialists in the New World can be swapped out for colonists and
the specialists returned to the player’s reserve pool (this has no
effect on gameplay)."

Specialists do not equal 2 colonists except in certain boxes only.

I don't think you can easily run out of colonists unless you are playing something incorrectly. See above.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adi Krupski
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
We played yet colonists were running out. We had seven spaces on the colonist dock, and all of us were on there once per turn. We got our colonists back from the boxes each turn, and played the game right. The problem was that one person got lots of missionaries (usually two per turn), and sent two to the New World almost every turn, and that was about 32 colonists transported to the New World in the whole game (8 multiplied by 4) (two colonists per missionary). Even if all the players were competing in the New World, unless you were last in turn order, you could send two colonists/specialists per turn. Although, the main reason why it happened is probably that only until the last turn of the game did warfare happen. At the end we didn't run out of pieces although many colonists had to be swapped out of the New World for merchants, captain, and missionaries.
Although this happened, the game played smoothly and went really well. I'm glad a pre-ordered this game, and can't wait to play it with five and six players!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Galactic Doug
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
Kubigaruma wrote:
Doug, you have this backwards:

From the rules: "Note: With the exception of soldiers, once a specialist arrives in the New World he no longer conveys any benefits. Specialists are
not designed to be a limited commodity so if a player wishes, the
specialists in the New World can be swapped out for colonists and
the specialists returned to the player’s reserve pool (this has no
effect on gameplay)."

Specialists do not equal 2 colonists except in certain boxes only.

I don't think you can easily run out of colonists unless you are playing something incorrectly. See above.


OK so I found that in the rules also. Good catch, But I still see no problems with trading out colonists from the game board to your pool of unused if your getting close to running out of colonists to play with. I have collected free colonists with all availble buildings to gain more each turn, including the
Settlers (X2) +1
*Monastery +2 when combined with Cathedral
*Cathedral
Indentured Servant +1
Colonization Laws. +1
Normal amount to play +5
on board for markers +1 turn box and score
plus those placed in Dicovery box

These buildings/normal placement when used by any single player can take the 30 colonists down to nill in a players unused stack in 3-4 turns. This has happened to me 2 times now. If we cannot replace them from the board with inconsequential pieces as I stated then I definitey would not be able to play past the 4th turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Galactic Doug
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
I've have read here that someone played with 5 people and 6 people also and found 5 was OK with the number of players but that 6 had some difficulties with the number of pieces per player and so the 6 player game did not run as smoothly for them.

This being said If I had thought about it when I ordered I would have ordered some extra pieces of each color also...blush

GD
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Drover
United States
Plainfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is not supposed to be a limit on Specialists or colonists. Therefore, if you are running out of colonists you could swap into the new world any specialist except for a soldier (because he has special ongoing ability once in the New World.)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Shirley
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Another common missed rule that will use extra colonists/specialists:

After you attempt discovery, all the colonists and specialists are returned to the box. If you succeed, ONE colonist is left behind.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Sauberer
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
monkey8 wrote:
The problem was that one person got lots of missionaries (usually two per turn), and sent two to the New World almost every turn, and that was about 32 colonists transported to the New World in the whole game (8 multiplied by 4) (two colonists per missionary).


In the first turn, you can't place Missionaries on the Colonist Dock yet, I don't believe, so that would put the max from that at 28 colonists.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
sebastien waechter
France
strasbourg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Kubigaruma wrote:
Discovery only gets you one colonist and the rest of the party is discarded back to the pool.

I don't agree with this, the rules say that you keep all colonists/specialists in the Discovery box, from turn to turn, until you launch an expedition, at that moment, you will lose all colonists/specialists involved in the expedition.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Szegedi
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think they meant... on a "successful" discovery... you get to keep only one Colonist (to settle the land) and the rest go back home to spread the good news, or whatever.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Kelly
United States
San Carlos
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
There is not supposed to be a limit on Specialists or colonists. Therefore, if you are running out of colonists you could swap into the new world any specialist except for a soldier (because he has special ongoing ability once in the New World.)


Glenn, if this is true, then you could effectively use the Migration building to move colonists that are really missionaries or merchants. should this be allowed?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Ferejohn
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
badge
Pitying fools as hard as I can...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ceba wrote:
Kubigaruma wrote:
Discovery only gets you one colonist and the rest of the party is discarded back to the pool.

I don't agree with this, the rules say that you keep all colonists/specialists in the Discovery box, from turn to turn, until you launch an expedition, at that moment, you will lose all colonists/specialists involved in the expedition.


Yes. That is how it is supposed to work. The rules make that quite clear. Once you have discovered something, you get to place *one* colonist on the newly discovered territory and the rest are all returned to supply.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Sauberer
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
skelly9131 wrote:
Quote:
There is not supposed to be a limit on Specialists or colonists. Therefore, if you are running out of colonists you could swap into the new world any specialist except for a soldier (because he has special ongoing ability once in the New World.)


Glenn, if this is true, then you could effectively use the Migration building to move colonists that are really missionaries or merchants. should this be allowed?


Why not? Once missionaries and merchants arrive in the New World via the Colonist Dock, they have no special abilities over and above that of regular colonists. Migratng them would not be the same as having them arrive via the Colonist Dock, so there would be no effect.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Psauberer wrote:
monkey8 wrote:
The problem was that one person got lots of missionaries (usually two per turn), and sent two to the New World almost every turn, and that was about 32 colonists transported to the New World in the whole game (8 multiplied by 4) (two colonists per missionary).


In the first turn, you can't place Missionaries on the Colonist Dock yet, I don't believe, so that would put the max from that at 28 colonists.

In effect, a Missionary puts 3 colonists per turn with the Cathedral (since a Missionary is the same as a colonist once it reaches the new world). However, you can only buy the Cathedral in Round II so it would not be available for the first 4 turns. But if you managed to buy the Cathedral in round 4, and have enough money and timing to get both the missionary and the 5-dollar specialist (or have gotten the Monastary to feed you a Missionary every turn), and switched out your Missionaries for colonists at the end of each turn, you could put 6 colonists x 4 rounds (5-8) for a total of 24 colonists in that round. Previous rounds would have netted you 4 x4 = 16. The most colonsists you could put into the colonies through the missionaries and the perfect buildings would be 40.

If someone were that successful, I would 1) take up the missionary and 5-dollare specialist box as much as possible to slow them down , 2) block the docks when possible with soldiers, and 3) use the Warfare box extensively. Sounds like you gave him this concession to allow him to get his plan to work so perfectly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.