Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Age of Empires III: The Age of Discovery» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bidding for turn order variant rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Will Layman
United States
Davidson
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
quick questions re: the bidding for turn order rule, do the players that pass during the bidding still receive the extra income? 2nd spot/$1, 3rd spot/2, 4th/3, 5th/4?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Galactic Doug
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
No since they are not placing a colonists in the Initiative box where the money is earned. There pieces just move to the right in the Turn Box like in the picture on page 4 under "Turn Order".

GD
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan Stegman
United States
Minneapolis
MN
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the rules when using the standard, random start, the player that goes 2nd gets $1, the player that goes 3rd gets $2, etc.. There are no colonists in the initiative box. And the amounts are different than the initiative payouts as well: Inititive - 1st=$1, 2nd=2, 3rd=$3... vs. Start - 1st=$0, 2nd=$1, 3rd=$2...

The question is: Does that still apply when using the auction variant?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will Layman
United States
Davidson
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Evan, thanks for clarifying my question.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Drover
United States
Plainfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. There is no "offset" for later starting positions in the auction start. One thing we've been doing lately though is randomly drawing the bidding order (rather than youngest first and then clockwise).

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonas
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
also in the rules it says teh winning bidder discovers the caribbean and receives the silver on the discovery counter and places it in front of him, however I thought that there was no discovery counter on Caribbean during setup??
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luca Iennaco
Italy
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmb
chessduffer wrote:
also in the rules it says teh winning bidder discovers the caribbean and receives the silver on the discovery counter and places it in front of him, however I thought that there was no discovery counter on Caribbean during setup??

Basic setup = no discovery.
Advanced setup = Caribbean discovered.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.