Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

A World at War» Forums » Rules

Subject: 2.5:1 attack rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
nikolaus homuth
msg tools
Gentlemen and possible ladies. I have a question!

How does a 2.5:1 attack ratio translate to the Combat Results Table-15.6

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel S
United States
Bay City
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
happynewyear1945 wrote:
Gentlemen and possible ladies. I have a question!

How does a 2.5:1 attack ratio translate to the Combat Results Table-15.6

Thanks


It's resolved on the 2:1 column.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
nikolaus homuth
msg tools
Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Everette Robertson
United States
Calhoun
KY
flag msg tools
mbmb
More importantly, a 2.5:1 attack can't fail due to two consecutive '1' rolls.

Here's an example:

4x3-3 attack a 3-3 defending under normal conditions on clear terrain. The defending 3-3 is doubled, leading to a 2:1 attack. If the attacker rolls a "1", he will get an 'a' result, costing him one 3-3, and will have the odds of attacking again at 1:1 (9:6) in the 2nd round with a +1 to his die roll. If he rolls a 2nd "1", modified to a 2, he'll get another 'a' result, which will cost him another 3-3. Unless he has a CTL of 3 or more, he won't be able to attack a third time, meaning that the attack would fail.

If, however, the attacker adds a 5th 3-3 to his initial attack (leading to odds of 15:6, or 2.5:1), and rolls a '1' in the first round, he'll lose a 3-3, but in the 2nd round, he'll attack again at 12:6 (2:1). With the +1 die roll modification, the worst result he can get in the 2nd round is an EX, which would cost him 6 factors but eliminate the defender and allow the attacker to capture the hex.

This is a BIG difference if you're trying to capture a key hex or using this attack to set up your breakthrough.
2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
nikolaus homuth
msg tools
thanks for the great example Everette!!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.