Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Commands & Colors: Ancients» Forums » Rules

Subject: Battling back and ignoring retreats rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bob Gibson
United States
San Diego (Scripps Ranch)
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to confirm -

Two or more adjacent units ignores 1 flag. A leader with a unit ignores one flag. Does that mean that a leader with a unit adjacent to two or more units ignores 2 flags?

Also, two units (units "A" & "B") move Close Combat against an opposing unit (unit "1"). The first unit (unit "A") attacks and is followed by the opposing unit (unit "1") battling back. When complete, the second unit (unit "B") attacks the opposing unit (unit "1"). Since all of this is suppose to be simulatanous, can the opposing unit (unit "1") battle back again? We've always played that he can, but have never been challenged about the rules before.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antonio Chavez
Mexico
Monterrey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bob.Gibson wrote:
Just to confirm -

Two or more adjacent units ignores 1 flag. A leader with a unit ignores one flag. Does that mean that a leader with a unit adjacent to two or more units ignores 2 flags?


Yes.

Bob.Gibson wrote:
Also, two units (units "A" & "B") move Close Combat against an opposing unit (unit "1"). The first unit (unit "A") attacks and is followed by the opposing unit (unit "1") battling back. When complete, the second unit (unit "B") attacks the opposing unit (unit "1"). Since all of this is suppose to be simulatanous, can the opposing unit (unit "1") battle back again? We've always played that he can, but have never been challenged about the rules before.


Yes, the unit battles back everytime it is attacked (if it is entitled to battle back, of course).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Bob.Gibson wrote:
Just to confirm -

Two or more adjacent units ignores 1 flag.


Just to clarify: a unit supported by two or more adjacent units ignores 1 flag. If two and only two units are adjacent, neither is supported and neither can ignore a flag on their own.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Duke
United States
Wynne
Arkansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Since all of this is suppose to be simulatanous


And also to clarify-- no where in the rules will you find anything to suggest it is simultaneous.

There is a specific sequence in which things happen-- you have to give out ALL the orders allowed by the card. You have to move EVERYONE who is going to move before doing any combat.

But then, you have complete choices of who battles and when-- ranged fire or close combat, in any order you want and without designating anything more than the attack you are about to do.

So in your example, if unit A had caused unit 1 to retreat so that it was no longer adjacent to unit B, then unit B would not be able to close combat unit 1. He could close combat someone else he was adjacent to, or if he's not adjacent an enemy unit and he is ranged-fire capable, he can ranged fire. But nothing is simultaneous.


Oh, one more point about ignoring retreats that a lot of people miss. Note very carefully that the ruling is MAY ignore retreats. That means you have a choice, and sometimes you might prefer not to ignore a retreat. As in your example, unit 1 might WANT to retreat in order to get away before Unit B gets to attack, so, even if he is entitled to ignore the retreat, he might choose to accept it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Banks
United States
Harrisburg
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Oh, one more point about ignoring retreats that a lot of people miss. Note very carefully that the ruling is MAY ignore retreats. That means you have a choice, and sometimes you might prefer not to ignore a retreat. As in your example, unit 1 might WANT to retreat in order to get away before Unit B gets to attack, so, even if he is entitled to ignore the retreat, he might choose to accept it.


Yup -- this is too important (and easy) to miss. In my games, we have arrived at a consistent, if peculiar, dialog that accompanies every CC event, from start to finish.

I suppose some might say that this may help players (i.e. your opponent) think of things that they might otherwise forget, but it establishes some degree of consistency in a game that can be easy to lose track of, at times.

I'm one who will opt for the clarity of the process, at the possible expense of my own advantage -- at least for now!

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.