Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Star Wars: Imperial Assault» Forums » Rules

Subject: Power to Shields class ability - multiple use per attack? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Fergus Macpherson
Australia
flag msg tools
The Armored Onslaught Imperial class deck has the ability Power to Shields. It says "Exhaust this card to [ignore one keyword e.g. Pierce] for the duration of this attack. Then, you may spend 1 threat to ready this card."

The timing is unclear to me. Does 'then' mean after exhausting the card or after the attack is finished? I.e. can you exhaust the card twice during one attack to pick two keywords?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You missed the important part of the timing: "while an Imperial figure is defending."

An ability can only be used once per timing instance. This is described for "while attacking" abilities, but clearly covers while defending too.

Thus, the 'then' is immediate. As soon as you use the ability, pay the threat to ready it or not, but you can't activate it again until you are defending a different attack.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rachi C
msg tools
mb
Clipper wrote:
You missed the important part of the timing: "while an Imperial figure is defending."

An ability can only be used once per timing instance. This is described for "while attacking" abilities, but clearly covers while defending too.

Thus, the 'then' is immediate. As soon as you use the ability, pay the threat to ready it or not, but you can't activate it again until you are defending a different attack.

If the attacker has surge=pierce 1 And surge=Cleave and only one surge, can I wait the surge decision before using Power to Shields?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Lunottina wrote:
Clipper wrote:
You missed the important part of the timing: "while an Imperial figure is defending."

An ability can only be used once per timing instance. This is described for "while attacking" abilities, but clearly covers while defending too.

Thus, the 'then' is immediate. As soon as you use the ability, pay the threat to ready it or not, but you can't activate it again until you are defending a different attack.

If the attacker has surge=pierce 1 And surge=Cleave and only one surge, can I wait the surge decision before using Power to Shields?


Yes. You can wait to see which keywords will be applied to the attack before you decide.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
- Power to Shields (last chance just before step 7 for Pierce, and anytime during step 7 for other of the listed keywords)

Ability Resolution order during attacks
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.