Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Ave Roma» Forums » Rules

Subject: Advanced rules Aedifactor/Legatus/Senatus extra action clarification needed rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Bremner
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
The wording on these extra actions is confusing:

'All currently used cards decrease the price of that card by...'

Does this mean all cards that have been used for all other bonus actions throughout the game (i.e., everything on the right of your player board) give a discount? This will make all top cards virtually free in the mid to late game, making the A/L/S actions more powerful than other options. There is an added confusion in that cards are 'used' to gain area influence in the propraetor action.

A more reasonable interpretation would be when you take this extra action get a discount of 1 per card used when doing so? Which seems more reasonable.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damon Baume
Australia
Lismore
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The English translation does make this a bit ambiguous but the use of "currently" just means the cards you are using to perform the bonus action.

In other words:

Quote:
A more reasonable interpretation would be when you take this extra action get a discount of 1 per card used when doing so? Which seems more reasonable.


This.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Big Head Zach
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Would this mean that you could use no extra actions and still pay full price for the top card?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Rau
Canada
Saskatoon
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Would this mean that you could use no extra actions and still pay full price for the top card?

That is how we play it! Using the extra cards only decreases the cost if you want to.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sami Liukkonen
msg tools
mbmbmb
bhz1 wrote:
Would this mean that you could use no extra actions and still pay full price for the top card?


From the rules:
"In the advanced game, you have the possibility to use up one or more cards from the left of your board before OR after you have finished with your basic action. For each action, the used cards give some sort of bonus."

Even though the Senatus extra action text seems to imply that A) you always have an extra card available and B) you *can* use cards to buy it cheaper, I'm fairly certain that it is intended that the bonus action only becomes available once you use (& move to the right) at least one card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damon Baume
Australia
Lismore
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
northsamer wrote:
bhz1 wrote:
Would this mean that you could use no extra actions and still pay full price for the top card?


From the rules:
"In the advanced game, you have the possibility to use up one or more cards from the left of your board before OR after you have finished with your basic action. For each action, the used cards give some sort of bonus."

Even though the Senatus extra action text seems to imply that A) you always have an extra card available and B) you *can* use cards to buy it cheaper, I'm fairly certain that it is intended that the bonus action only becomes available once you use (& move to the right) at least one card.


+1. If you don't "spend" cards you can't use the bonus action, and in this case the bonus action is the ability to buy an extra card.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.