The Oracle of Delphi» Forums » Variants

Subject: Playing solo rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Patrik Strid
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This is my first attempt of coming up with a solo variant. I have appreciated a lot of other variants posted here in BGG, I guess its my way of paying forward... hopefully someone will find it useful.

OVERVIEW & PURPOSE
My intention is to get a gaming experience solo as close to how a multiplayer session would be. I find it important to keep the ghost player part as simple and straightforward as possible to be able to fully concentrate on my own strategy.

With this variant the ghost player will act based on a dice and complete one task after another and at the same time narrowing down the available options.

SETUP
Setup as normal for a 2-player game with the following exceptions:
1. Only place ONE Statue per City Tile (Variable Game board setup #7).
2. Setup your own individual play area as normal, but the ghost player only needs some parts as follows:
a. The same Zeus Tiles as you have. Line them up in a row, first the “Shrine” tiles, then the “Offering” tiles,
then the “Monster” tiles and finally the “Statue” tiles.
b. Place the three Shrines below the corresponding first three Zeus Tiles.
c. No need for the Player board, the Ship tile, the 6 Gods, the Shield or the Ship.
d. Keep the 3 Oracle Dice.
e. The ghost player will also roll the Titan’s Die.

COURSE OF PLAY
You are the starting player. Your first “Consulting the Oracle” is done during the setup as normal. Play through the following steps until either you have completed all your tasks and returned to Zeus or the ghost player removed all his/her tiles.

1. Play your turn as normal (checking Injury Cards and performing actions).
2. Consulting the Oracle. Roll your 3 Oracle Dice.
3. Roll the Oracle Dice of the ghost player together with the Titan’s die.
a. Move one of your Gods 1 step according to his/her Oracle Dice if applicable, as normal.