Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jay Bruce
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
I've posted a general overview of the game in the "sessions" section. Sorry I know I've seemed unresponsive to requests, but honestly between not understanding the site's organization and my wife's illness I claim pure distraction blush

If people want more, as one person asked for a battle report, I'll certainly make efforts to do so. Battle reports might not make sense without pictures, since the mechanics are somewhat different than the usual "I move, you move" game systems.

Let me know if you want more, and I'll certainly post what I can.

Jay

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Bruce
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Overview of OPORD play system mechanics
I was asked to post a game play review. I'm new to this form of reporting so bear with me if I muck it up.

The game is designed to mimic the frustration of modern combat, not an idealized mechanic of how big a gun, strong a unit, or other typical game aspects. The game is designed on a variable turn sequence, where at the beginning of each turn, both players roll for initiative and their own turn order. A turn sequence is phase 1. initiative player moves or shoots (variable), then non-phase player moves or shoots (variable), then phase 2. initiative player moves/shoots (variable) and non-phasing player likewise. Phase 3. All units with adjacent enemy "fight" simultanious. The game flows, and because of the variable order of your turn, you have to always think ahead of how your position, mission, and units will have to support and interact against possible enemy developments.