Hide
9 Posts

Onitama» Forums » Strategy

Subject: First/Second player balance issue? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
mingyu cho
msg tools
I am a student planning to major in computer science and this semester, I had to do some kind of project regarding artificial intelligence. I chose to make an AI for Onitama.
Using the movement cards in this link, I managed to use alpha-beta pruning(ABP) to make an AI for Onitama: https://boardgamegeek.com/image/2999035/onitama
I bought a copy of this game at the start of this semester but don't have a friend who likes playing abstract strategy games, so I played this game like 3~4 times and that was all, so do understand me not being able to see whether if the first player or the second player is advantageous.

I am now trying to test the ABP AI of depth 4(meaning it predicts 4 moves before choosing what move to take, in a nutshell) against a random AI which
(1) If it can take the opponent's king, then it takes the king
(2) Otherwise, it takes a random valid move.

My assumption was that since ABP is trivially superior to random, ABP should win for almost all cases. I fully expected that ABP would be winning for more than 90% for all cases.

However, I am finding two peculiar results:
(a) If ABP starts first, it almost always wins(with probability 98~99%)
(b) If ABP starts later, it usually wins(with probability 71~72%), but drastically less than when it starts first.

My question is this: Is this game, in any way, biased against the second player?

EDIT: added my assumptions for the start of this project
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Duarte
Portugal
Ponte de Lima
Ponte de Lima
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
In those 4 moves the ABP predicts, does he know that he has to defend first and then attack?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mingyu cho
msg tools