Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Colosseum» Forums » Rules

Subject: Moving Nobles rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Mueller
United States
Dayton
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In Phase 4, does the active player complete all steps of producing an event before the next player does?

In other words, if Ann, Bob, & Chuck are in Phase 4, does play proceed like this:
Order A:
Ann moves Nobles
Ann produces an Event
Bob moves Nobles
Bob produces an Event
Chuck moves Nobles
Chuck produces an Event

or does it proceed like this?
Order B:
Ann moves Nobles
Bob moves Nobles
Chuck moves Nobles
Ann produces an Event
Bob produces an Event
Chuck produces an Event

I presume it's Order A, because in Order B the last player has a tremendous advantage on where the Nobles end up for all players' scoring.

But I wanted to check with the experts here before playing my first game.

Thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Fisk
United Kingdom
Stoke on Trent
Staffordshire
flag msg tools
Come on you Seagulls! Sami Hyppia's Blue & White army!
badge
That's weird. This bit used to mention Shire Games, and tell you all how wonderful we are. But it seems to have got deleted. Let's see what happens this time ....
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's Order A


N.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Green Knight Games
United Kingdom
Cheltenham
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Heck! We've been playing this wrong. I've just check the rules and it is A.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve K
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
...
badge
...
Avatar
In our first game we almost made the same mistake - we all moved the nobles, then as the first player produced his event we all looked at each other, thought "this can't be right", checked the rules and restarted.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mark sellmeyer
United States
st louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It could be read either way. I have played 4 games using "B". After playing a few games, "A" seems more fair, but I thought it seemd to be more downtime playwise, so I thought "B". is this confirmed anywhere? an FAQ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian

Unspecified
Unspecified
msg tools
mbmb
On Page VI:

In this phase, each player, beginning with the starting player that turn, may now produce an event. There are 3 steps to each event's production:

Step 1 Moving Senators, Consuls, and the Emperor
.
.
.
Step 2 Producing the Event
.
.
.
Step 3 Counting Spectators at your Event
.
.
.


I find that this can only be read one way. Each player does all 3 steps.

In addition, doing it the B way seriously penalizes the first player.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon Pennington
United States
Springfield
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
badge
If your orange juice doesn't burn on the way down, then you need more vodka!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
glad I found this question, I was a little confused by it
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
    Conserve energy:     Play Board Games!
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Some say the world will end in fire, Some say in ice. From what I’ve tasted of desire I hold with those who favor fire. But if it had to perish twice, I think I know enough of hate To say that for destruction ice Is also great And would suffice.
badge
Shake your business up and pour it. I don't have all day.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, darn. Our first two games have been played incorrectly. We have been playing by scenario "B" above, although after our last game I started to suspect that we were overlooking something. Being able to "grief" other players by moving the nobles out of their arenas before producing a show really reduced the nobles' meaningfulness.

Thanks for the discussion!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.