Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Europe Engulfed» Forums » Rules

Subject: Naval combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Waltisberg
Germany
Marburg
flag msg tools
Hi!
After our last game I am re-reading the rules and noticed, that naval combat is only allowed if/when the enemy uses his fleet points to move units. Is this correct?
In our game we conducted naval combat without the enemy transporting units with his fleet - I suppose this was a mistake, right?
I find it a bit odd (historically) that naval combat is linked to the transport of units. Why shouldn't the fleet points be able to fight on their own? Or am I missing something?
Thanks and greetings,
Tudeh
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Young
United States
Durham
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules are correct. This is to allow the Axis to maintain a 'fleet-in-being', by giving them the right to refuse battle except when it is most important to them.

They can strat-move by sea and risk only the units, or Op-move and risk the fleets (and units if enough fleets get sunk).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.