Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Great Western Trail» Forums » General

Subject: Aux Action question... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Van Wagoner
United States
Bluffton
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
per the rules (page 7):

Phase B) Use the action(s) of your reached location

"b) A private building tile of another player, a hazard tile or a teepee tile. Perform one single auxiliary action (see above). Note: this means, of course, that you usually will try to reach a neutral building tile or a building tile of your own color, because only there can you perform local actions."


so can you always use an aux. action when on another player's building, or only if there is the option to use an aux action (the actual icon) on the building tile?

thanks...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Soren Hedberg
Canada
Terrace
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Always.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Steck
United States
Benton
Arkansas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just note that when you land on a hazard, teepee, or another players building, you only get to do an auxiliary action once, whether or not you have both disks uncovered.

Note the difference between the auxiliary action icons on the player board vs. the buildings.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Van Wagoner
United States
Bluffton
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
albynomonk wrote:
Always.
so even on another player's building, a building without the "aux action icon", i can perform one?

we obv missed that in our first few games, thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Ben
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Of course I've been up all night! Not because of caffeine, it was insomnia. I couldn't stop thinking about coffee.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
John_VW wrote:
albynomonk wrote:
Always.
so even on another player's building, a building without the "aux action icon", i can perform one?


Yes.

Even if you land on your own building or a neutral building you have the option to do a single aux action instead of using the building (you cannot use the building at all).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tahsin Shamma
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's actually incredibly useful to do this, especially if it's a building close to KC and you've got a single duplicate cow card or need to move your train just a little more (assuming you've uncovered that space).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Soren Hedberg
Canada
Terrace
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
veector wrote:
It's actually incredibly useful to do this, especially if it's a building close to KC and you've got a single duplicate cow card or need to move your train just a little more (assuming you've uncovered that space).


Yep. There's really no excuse for claiming "bad luck" for your hand when you get to KC.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
andrew mccollin
United Kingdom
sheffield
south yorkshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What about buildings with the dual aux action space as well as another action. Can you do both?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Eisen
United States
Redwood City
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
andymac182 wrote:
What about buildings with the dual aux action space as well as another action. Can you do both?


No. You completely ignore every icon on any opponent's building or hazard you act on. You only do the single auxiliary action. A single one which is not covered by a disk and you cannot do the action twice even if both sides are uncovered on your player mat.

Similarly on your own buildings if you choose to do the auxiliary action, but in this case you either use the icons or do the auxiliary action, but not both.

Any actions inherent in the space on the board (if the building is on one of the parts of the trail with hazards) are only available to you if it is your building and you are taking the actions offered by the building. If you are using the "take one auxiliary action" option either because you must as it is an opponent's building or because you choose to when on your own building, you do not have access to the icons on the board.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Steck
United States
Benton
Arkansas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb


The player board explains it.

When you land on your building or a neutral building, you can:

do the any or all of the actions on the tile (in any order) (illustrated by the Exclamation Point) On some buildings one of these actions is the double-auxiliary action.

OR you can do ONE auxiliary action (illustrated by the 1x auxiliary action icon --as opposed to the double auxiliary action icon on some tiles)



When you land on another players building, a hazard or tepee, you can ONLY do ONE auxiliary action.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.