Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Colt Express: Horses & Stagecoach» Forums » Rules

Subject: Whiskey bottles rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tobi Eb
msg tools
mb
Hey everybody,

just stuck on the rules regarding those optional Whiskey bottles.

The rules mention that each Whiskey Flask can be used twice in a game.
After the first use, flip the Flask token on its side showing a half-drunk Flask. It then shows a normal Whiskey Flask or an old Whiskey Flask that determine the second usage (Draw and play OR play two cards in a row)
BUT
how does the first Usage effect the game? Is a full bottle and therefore not yet used flask always treated like a normal Whiskey Flask giving you the "draw 3 cards and then play your card" effect?

Kind regards Tobi
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shannon T
Australia
Peakhurst
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tobinsky wrote:
Hey everybody,

just stuck on the rules regarding those optional Whiskey bottles.

The rules mention that each Whiskey Flask can be used twice in a game.
After the first use, flip the Flask token on its side showing a half-drunk Flask. It then shows a normal Whiskey Flask or an old Whiskey Flask that determine the second usage (Draw and play OR play two cards in a row)
BUT
how does the first Usage effect the game? Is a full bottle and therefore not yet used flask always treated like a normal Whiskey Flask giving you the "draw 3 cards and then play your card" effect?

Kind regards Tobi


My guess is that you keep it face down so your opponents don't know which variety you have. Obviously once you have used it the first time, everyone knows what it is, so turning it face up is a great reminder that you have only one use left.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tobi Eb
msg tools
mb
So if I understand you right the "flip the token" is only to
1. remember that you used the whiskey once and have one usage left
2. reveal the sort of bottle to the other players

does that mean that you are allowed to look at the downside of each whiskey token once you´ve gained it? That would mean that each bottle instantly is determined as normal or old flask and both first and second usage of each flask is determined too. that makes sense. but as this first use of whiskey is not clearly described in the rules I´ve played different so far...

Other explanations?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
-matt s.
United States
Eugene
Oregon
flag msg tools
/geeklist/240879
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tobinsky wrote:
Hey everybody,

just stuck on the rules regarding those optional Whiskey bottles.

The rules mention that each Whiskey Flask can be used twice in a game.
After the first use, flip the Flask token on its side showing a half-drunk Flask. It then shows a normal Whiskey Flask or an old Whiskey Flask that determine the second usage (Draw and play OR play two cards in a row)
BUT
how does the first Usage effect the game? Is a full bottle and therefore not yet used flask always treated like a normal Whiskey Flask giving you the "draw 3 cards and then play your card" effect?

Kind regards Tobi


There are two types of Whiskey Flasks, Normal and Old. When you obtain one you look at it but keep it secret initially, so no one else will know what it is until you use it.

For Normal, the first time you use it you draw 3 cards adding them to your hand, then flip it to show the 'half drunk' side (i.e. the side with the +3 cards icon), and finally, play an Action card from your hand. The second time you use it do the same thing, except discard the flask.

For Old, the first time you use it you play 2 cards instead of one and flip it to show the 'half drunk' side (i.e. the side with the 'play 2 cards' icon). The second time you use it, play 2 cards instead of one and then discard the flask. Note that you may NOT draw any cards with Old whiskey, it ONLY allows you to play two cards instead of one during your turn.

Hope that clarifies!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tobi Eb
msg tools
mb
it did, yes!!!! Thanks
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.