Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Cosmic Encounter» Forums » Rules

Subject: Usurper Willd Flare vs Human Card Zap rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mitchell Simmons
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
This one simply comes down to: When exactly is human allowed to zap himself?

I just played a game where human went up against someone who played Usurper wild flare, which causes the encounter to be decided just by number of allies and ends the encounter at the allying phase. Once human was outnumbered, therefore about to lose, human zapped him self. I, while even being on his side, submitted that human is only playable in the reveal phase and since we never got there he could not zap himself. Human claimed that the "reveal" part only applies to the +4 but the zap can be done at any point. We ended up ruling in his favor.

Just curious for many reasons, but does human have to wait for reveal to zap himself or can he do that at any point after launch?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
STB
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You were correct. Cosmic Zaps can only be played in response to a power being used, and the Human's power is only used in the reveal phase. The Human's power text doesn't modify this rule.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack of Clubs
United States
Fountain Valley
California
flag msg tools
Why is there no Word Games Forum or Subdomain?
badge
There should be a Word Games Subdomain, or at least a Word Games Forum!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And one of the important reasons why it needs to be this way is so you don't have two conflicting "this side wins regardless of anything else" effects. Human has such an effect in the reveal phase, and Wild Usurper has such an effect in the alliance phase. Since they happen in two different phases, they can't ever come into conflict.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.