Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Grogan
United Kingdom
Cullompton
Devon
flag msg tools
designer
Check out all my instructional How to Play videos at youtube.com/GamingRulesVideos
mbmbmbmbmb
I've made this post to hopefully help others who are just getting the game with a few tricky things I came across during learning.

Before I start, let me say that I think the game is good. Huge replayability because of the varied setup, a good length and very important decisions, with a high level of player interaction, albeit not direct. Well, until someone builds track right in your way completely messing up your plans!

I am also very keen to play more and teach other people. But some people think I might be being too picky here, and thats fine. My day job is a professional rulebook editor, so I have to be more picky than most. I also read a lot of rulebooks and have to learn and teach a lot of games

Void cards
I'll start with this one as I believe its the most confusing thing in the game and makes it hard to teach other people. You see, some cards have a consequence when you play and discard them. This is shown by an icon in the bottom right. And the rules state that whenever you play this card, or even discard it, you suffer the consequence.
However, the void cards are special. There is an icon on them, that looks exactly like a consequence icon, and its in the same place as the consequence icon. But... it kinda is and it isnt.
This icon is actually just a reminder that when you initially take the card, you have to discard another card. As a one-off effect. And yes, the rules on page 4 do say that this is a one-time consequence, but I know a number of people who were confused by this point.
There is also an example on page 10 which is wrong. It shows a player discarding a void card and suffering the consequence of it, which adds to the confusion. So, on page 10, remove the text that says "This card's consequence increases his Stress by 1".