Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Age of Empires III: The Age of Discovery» Forums » Rules

Subject: which boxes are first come first served? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Curt Collins
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Some areas you can fight over with majority, and others are simply a matter of who places first. Can you fight over the soldier/merchant/missionary/captain boxes? How about the resource boxes?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Bender
United States
Knoxville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Whoever places first in a particular specialist box receives the specialist indicated in the box for the next turn (or purchases a specialist of their choice for $5 if they had a presence in that box). Only one placement may occur in each of the specialist boxes. Once a player has claimed one of those spaces no other may place in that space during that turn. This is why there is a $5 buy a specialist of your choice box. If you really wanted a Missionary for the next turn and someone had already claimed that space, but the 'Wild Card' spot is still open you can then claim it and buy your Missionary (or whichever specialist you want) for $5 to use on the next turn.

One player could place all five of their settlers in each of the available boxes (if no other players chose to do so) and then would receive ten actions on the following turn.

Only the Merchant Ship space is a 'majority' space; only the player with the majority receives a merchant ship. Players use as many of their actions as they wish to place units in the merchant ship box. Only the player that ends up with the most units in the box at the end of the turn(remember Captains and Merchant count twice) receives the Merchant ship. All units in the merchant box are returned to their owners after majority is determined, just as they are on all other tracks (except Discovery).

Discovery allows any or all players to place colonists and specialists to attempt to discover one location on the board or from the Discovery deck (if all the areas on the board have been discovered). When resolving the Discovery box players, in turn order, decide to either do nothing and keep all units in the Discovery box for next turn or use some or all of their units to a attempt a Discovery. The player may leave your units in the Discovery box and continue to build your forces from turn to turn to make sure they have enough people to overcome the Native population. This is the only space that lets a player keep units in it from turn to turn.

The Trade Goods track has four spaces, which means only four placements may occur there. The first player to place puts a unit in the first space of the Trade goods track, the next player to place (which could be the same player on a subsequent action) puts a unit in the next available space, etc. Once all four spaces are filled no other players may claim trade goods during the current turn. Players then claim one of the face up trade goods in the order they placed their units on the trade goods track.



3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Bender
United States
Knoxville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To answer your question, perhaps more succinctly:

1. Initiative, Colonist Dock, Trade Goods, Capital Buildings, Specialist and Warfare all only allow one unit per box (or are first come first served as you described it).

Number of Boxes:
Initiative (1 per player) (A player may only occupy one space on the track)

Colonist Dock (2 x Number of Players - 1) (May occupy multiple spaces on the track)

Trade Goods 4 spaces (May occupy multiple spaces on the track)

Capital Buildings 5 spaces (May occupy multiple spaces on the track)

Specialists 5 spaces (Missionary/Merchant/Soldier/Captain/Training) (May occupy multiple spaces on the track)

Warfare 4 spaces (May occupy multiple spaces on the track)

2. Merchant Shipping and Discovery allow multiple placements.

Merchant Shipping: Only the player with the most units here receives the merchant ship

Discovery: All players that have units here, in turn order, may attempt a Discovery.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Drover
United States
Plainfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Collins
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you. We had actually placed the four resources in the four boxes and said you could fight over them (though nobody did) in my first and only play. I really appreciate the help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wade Broadhead
United States
Pueblo
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We put the reosurces in the boxes and for you colonist action you just placed your colonist on the good you wanted, pretty much the same thing as choosing in order, and saves some time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Drover
United States
Plainfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We actually play that way too sometimes. Works a bit more intuitively. The only difference is that by doing it the way that the rules call for gives a bit of cool insecurity. you really don't know what the guy who placed in front of you is going to take, so you really don't know if placing your guy there is going to get you what you want...i.e. more tension in the game, which I like.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Bender
United States
Knoxville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
denverarch wrote:
We put the reosurces in the boxes and for you colonist action you just placed your colonist on the good you wanted, pretty much the same thing as choosing in order, and saves some time.


We did that too, the first time we played.

However, there is a subtle difference between knowing which good you are going to receive when you make your placement and only hoping you will get the good you want when you make your placement.

It is true that it is usually obvious which trade good each player will choose, but there will also be those times when it may not be as obvious. Since Merchant Ships are wild cards for trade good sets, which trade good a player wants may change by the time the trade goods track is resolved. Vying for choice order, and not actually picking the trade good ahead of time, still seems a more challenging decision and more in line with the way other choices are made.

Perhaps if the trade goods track had a fifth box that let you buy any trade good you wanted for $5 (or more), then it might make sense to choose your trade good when you make your placement there.

I don't know this for sure, but I'm going to guess Glenn will suggest you play it whichever way you and your group prefers. I could be wrong though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathew Reno
United States
Derry
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
denverarch wrote:
We put the reosurces in the boxes and for you colonist action you just placed your colonist on the good you wanted, pretty much the same thing as choosing in order, and saves some time.


The downside there, as I see it, is that the other players now know, during placement, which good you are going for and if it is one they wanted too, they might not put a colonist in the trade goods box, which might end up hurting you elsewhere.

*** Yeah, what Glenn said... Should have refreshed the thread before I posted. blush
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Blake
United States
South Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmb
While this wasn't ambiguous with our group, it was a minor twinge that there was not a designated space on the board for the Capitol Buildings and Trade Goods (which is probably closer to being a trade route than a trade good).

We just dumped the buildings in the ocean.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.