Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Krzysiek
Poland
Chorzów
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

I am new to Xenoshyft, only having played Onslaught once in my life, before committing to purchase Dreadmire via Kickstarter.

I have just watched the video review by Sam Healy and something made me wonder. In his [geekurl=https://www.boardgamegeek.com/video/109912/xenoshyft-dreadmire/xenoshyft-dreadmire-review-sam-healey]review video[/geekurl], at 9:10 mark, Sam says that he can prevent a Ranger card from being killed thanks to the ability of the MK III Vulcan Gatling gun. The ability on the card reads:

Quote:
once per round, prevent all damage to all other troops in this lane by an enemy ability

Now, my understanding of abilities in this game is that the ability is an effect, such as reveal, or weather-activated ability. But is attacking considered an ability ? In my opinion, based on my understanding of the rules booklet, attacking as such is an action performed by both sides, rather than an ability. In this case, the Gatling gun should not work and it's ability text should not negate the damage done to the ranger as show in the video.

I am curious of your thoughts, as perhaps I am misunderstanding how the game works and would like to know. The power/ability of the Gatling gun can raise chances of surviving in the early stages of the game.

Kind regards,

- K.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Felix Brause
Germany
Duisburg
Deutschland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I also only plaed it once, but a similar situation came up.
I´d say: Attacking is not an ability.
So the gatling gun can not prevent damage by attacks.
But if a monster has the card text: "when it dies, it deals damage to x troops" this would work with the gatling gun...
But I´m not a rules expert (yet)

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ethan Zahn
msg tools
mbmb
I believe the effect shouldn't be able to block damage arising from combat.