Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Age of Empires III: The Age of Discovery» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Quick post rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Connor Alexander
United States
St. Augustine
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just finished my fourth or fifth game, I've been mostly playing 2 player with a single 5 player thrown in the mix. Last game I found the perfect groove by establishing a strong financial start and quickly buying up any of the 'get an extra guy' buildings I could find. By the last round I was getting 2 free captains, 2 free merchants and a free soldier. The merchants (and merchant ships I had acquired with them) gave me a strong enough economy to buy 1-2 extra guys a turn in the specialist box. I ended up winning by 40 points and found it a great strategy. What strategies have you all found strong?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Sauberer
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oshio wrote:
The merchants (and merchant ships I had acquired with them) gave me a strong enough economy to buy 1-2 extra guys a turn in the specialist box.


You can only buy 1 guy per turn in the "$5 per specialist" box, I believe. And that's only if you are the one player who places a colonist there.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Connor Alexander
United States
St. Augustine
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That wasn't clear to me at all. The relevant text:

"Specialists: When resolved, players receive the specialist shown
in the box occupied by their colonist. A player who has chosen
the training box can pay five gold and pick any one specialist.
Only one player can occupy a specialist box at a time and only
one specialist can be “trained” per turn for a maximum of five
specialists available per turn. Specialists taken in this phase are
placed in front of the owning player for use on the next turn."

and

"Specialist Event Box: Place a colonist in the slot of the
particular specialist desired. A total of 5 specialists are
available each turn (there is 1 of each specialist available
plus, if a player wishes, he/she can pay five gold to train
one specialist of any kind)."

I've already been playing it wrong because we were all under the impression that it always cost 5G to train a specialist and haven't been playing at all with the 'pick any specialist box', being unaware it was a selection at all.

So I guess my main confusion now is this: Can I put multiple colonists in multiple training boxes? IE: Could I put a colonist in the 'pay $5, select any' box as well as the 'Soldier' box?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan Stegman
United States
Minneapolis
MN
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is nothing in the rules you posted that would indicate you couldn't.

Based on those rules, you could put one in every box (if no one else took any).

The restriction is 1 of each kind plus one of any from the $5 training box for a maximum of 5. One player getting all of them doesn't violate that restriction.

I think most of your confusion stems from the fact that you seem to think ALL of the specialist boxes are 'training' boxes. They are not. The first four are specialist boxes and only the $5 one is a 'training box'. Read the rules again with that in mind and it will be clearer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Connor Alexander
United States
St. Augustine
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Alright, I figured as much, it was just the relatively wordy and confusing line: "Only one player can occupy a specialist box at a time and only
one specialist can be “trained” per turn for a maximum of five
specialists available per turn." which I assume is just trying to say only one specialist per box can be trained. So my only confusion was pertaining to the 'wild card' box, which is now cleared up
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan Stegman
United States
Minneapolis
MN
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It appears I edited in the last paragraph of my prior post at the same time you were posting your response.

I assume you realize now it is saying only one specialist can be trained per turn period. I.e., only the $5 box marked 'Training' is considered 'trained'. The other four (with the specialist's names at the top) aren't 'trained'; you just get them. Thus 4 specialist boxes plus one trained specialist = 5 maximum specialists per turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.