Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Age of Empires III: The Age of Discovery» Forums » Rules

Subject: Militia Q rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Geoff Speare
United States
Bedford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
tee hee, that tickles!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules for the Militia capital building make reference to the soldier not being removed if it was a casualty, which gave us the impression that in addition to providing a shot, it would effectively serve to absorb the first hit from the attacker. However, since the attacker chooses who they shoot, isn't it the case that the militia figure will never die unless every other figure has already been shot?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonas
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I had it down to 2 things after re reading over and over again. 1) it's a mistype of some sort, or 2) they were trying to be funny with the words, meaning he doesn't disappear he is actually dead instead. Either way I am sure you remove the soldier after the battle.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Drover
United States
Plainfield
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
galfridus wrote:
The rules for the Militia capital building make reference to the soldier not being removed if it was a casualty, which gave us the impression that in addition to providing a shot, it would effectively serve to absorb the first hit from the attacker. However, since the attacker chooses who they shoot, isn't it the case that the militia figure will never die unless every other figure has already been shot?



You are correct. The Militia will never be chosen, because it disappears after the battle anyway. Excess text on the counter.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Troy Adlington
United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So you may Not choose the Militia to shoot at?

That's interesting. (I've already seen this come up)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Paul Sodusta
United States
Santa Barbara
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are never forced not to shoot at the Militia. It is just stupid to do so.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael S
Taiwan
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmb
Barkam wrote:
You are never forced not to shoot at the Militia. It is just stupid to do so.

You may want to shoot at the militia if for example you have two solders and killing one colonist of the opponent would produce a tie between two opponents. Therefore the one colonist and the militia die in exchange for one of your solders.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Markus Sandén
Sweden
flag msg tools
Wouldn't it be easier just to say that a defender with the militia capital building inflicts one extra casualty on the attacker.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yiannis Avramandis
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
stray_flux wrote:

You may want to shoot at the militia if for example you have two solders and killing one colonist of the opponent would produce a tie between two opponents. Therefore the one colonist and the militia die in exchange for one of your solders.


Very clever!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.