Recommend
6 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Advanced Squad Leader: Starter Kit #1» Forums » General

Subject: Special Rolls rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm a little overwhelmed sometimes during play when I roll certain values for rallies, morale checks or fire attacks. Sometimes they have a special meaning, and other times they do not. So for your benefit (and mine as well), here are all the special rolls that I could find in the rules:

Rally

DR original 12: Unit suffers casualty reduction.

Fire Attack

DR is doubles (no leader): Cower. Shift left one column on IFT (2 columns for inexperienced units).
FPF DR: Also acts as NMC for all units that fired.
Original DR >= B#: MG breaks after use. Flip counter.
Original DR >= X#: FT eliminated after use. DC eliminated with no effect.

Morale Check

DR original 12: Unit suffers casualty reduction (eliminated if already broken).
Fails by more than ELR: Replaced by lesser quality unit.

MMC Self Rally/CC Attack

DR original 2: Leader creation.


B# = break number
CC = close combat
DC = demolition charge
DR = 2d6 die roll
ELR = experience level rating
FPF = final protective fire
FT = flame thrower
IFT = infantry fire table
MG = machine gun
MMC = multi-man counter (squad or half squad)
NMC = normal morale check
X# = elimination number


Let me know if I missed anything, and I'll add it to this post.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Thompson
United States
Homewood
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DR > B#: MG breaks after use. Flip counter.
DR > X#: FT eliminated after use. DC eliminated with no effect.

That should be >= in both cases.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you. My fingers didn't type what my brain was telling them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antonio B-D
Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Luxembourg
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
DR >= B#: MG breaks after use. Flip counter.
DR >= X#: FT eliminated after use. DC eliminated with no effect


Is this DR an original DR or a Final DR. i.e. If I use my MG against an enemy in a stone building (TEM +3) and I roll a 10 will the MG break? I have been playing that for B or X the original DR had to be greater or equal to the SW B# or X#, i.e. only on a roll of 12 (no matter the target) will the MG break.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
abendoso wrote:
Is this DR an original DR or a Final DR.


Original. Post fixed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Un Streetfighter avec un doctorat
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If there are snipers in SK1, that would be a special roll.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.