Subject: How Tough is This in Single Player Mode? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Erik Hatinen
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mb
I’ve played three games of this game, single player each time, and each time got slaughtered. While I’m very new to the game, I’m quite adept at thinking games, mostly because I’m very good at statistical math. I also used to be the Keeper for my old Call of Cthulhu RPG, which was obviously an inspiration for this and Arkham Horror.

I'll leave my first game for last to describe, just because of how preposterous that loss was.

My second game was against Cthulhu, and I was Silas Marsh the Sailor. Silas did well against monsters (he got the Sacred Dagger almost immediately in Australia) and sealed quite a few gates, but the only mystery he resolved got undone by the Mythos deck, and the Doom clock resolved very rapidly. I suspect that a big part of this loss was simply dumb luck, as Silas seems to have Sanity as his Achilles' heel and Cthulhu wins when the player(s) lose too much Sanity. I assumed that even though Cthulhu wasn’t on the board, when Doom reached zero that it was game over when Silas ran out of Sanity.

The third game featured Shub Nigurath versus Jacqueline Pine the Psychic. She did much better than the Sailor or Politician, and she resolved multiple mysteries chiefly because of some dang good spells. But multiple monsters showed up that she couldn’t handle and two of them advanced Doom whenever a Reckoning happens (Zombie Horde was one and I think the Shoggoth was the other).