Jeffrey Lower
United States
La Mesa
California
flag msg tools
badge
I love a game of Up Front. Thanks WV!
mbmbmbmbmb

I am excited to begin making my pixel block players. I have my blocks and I have the Pixel Pack. But before I get going, I want to make sure that I step off on the right foot.

Are there any tips that I should know about before I begin?

For instance, I've read that Brent was able to make 20 teams in one night. I'd like to know his step-by-step process for doing it. I've never used Mod Podge before so I don't know the best way to apply it. Foam brush? Small paintbrush? Do you color the edges of the block before you begin? What about the bottom of the block? How many coats of Mod Podge to finish the varnishing?

Thanks in advance for the advice!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pat Johnston
United States
North Liberty
Iowa
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Any recommendations to purchasing blocks as well? I assume Amazon has them, but wondered if anyone has found a deal...how many will we need for all teams?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Rochelle
United States
Huntsville
Alabama
flag msg tools
9 92 33 JOFA
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
hawkeyept wrote:
how many will we need for all teams?
8 blocks per team, 256 total (if you don't want multiple color schemes of any team). Drop that to 7 blocks per team if you're sure you won't want to use the 8-on-8 modes.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Koch
United States
Omaha
Nebraska
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A single Redwood tree cut into cubes should suffice to create enough blocks for all teams and alternate lineups.

I got my cubes as Michaels (using 50% off coupon).. about $2.25 w/ tax (in groups of 24).

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffrey Lower
United States
La Mesa
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep. It's hard to beat Michael's price with the 50% off coupon.

Okay... now, what about those tips for making them? Thanks in advance!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide