Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
54 Posts
1 , 2 , 3  Next »   | 

Blood Rage» Forums » General

Subject: Potentially offensive miniatures? Getting the expansion? Looking for advice. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kristopher Hickman
United States
St. Joseph
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Gaming Unplugged since... 2016
mbmbmbmbmb
Christmas has come and went and now I am left with a big pile of amazing board games that I want to play. My wife bought two for me, Blood Rage and Scythe.

As a history teacher, I love to study the Vikings and Nord culture, so I have been heavily anticipating Blood Rage for some time now. For whatever reason, every review and video I saw of the game seemed to gloss over a tiny detail that I should have noticed but didn't.

The Serpent Clan.

The quality of the miniatures in this game is fantastic. They have incredible detail. The staves and spears are not wilty. Cool Mini or Not lives up to its name. However, this great detail also shows a lot of skin on the female characters. Upon further inspection of the rulebook, game box, player mats and miniatures, all of the female characters have some form of underboob exposed.

This has created a conundrum for me. The female figures in this game will offend my wife, and may possibly make some of the members of my gaming group uncomfortable. I have reached out to many members of my church and have gotten them solidly addicted to the gaming hobby, attending our get-togethers weekly. I fear that the exposed breasts of the figures will be a problem for sake of modesty and purity (this is especially the case for my high school youth group teenage boys.)

I want to love this game. I want to play at the full complement of players. I want to have glorious deaths, control mighty monsters and fight until the world is consumed by Ragnarok. But with the Serpent clan, I fear that I might not be able to enjoy this game to the fullest.