Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Bios: Genesis» Forums » Rules

Subject: Tropical Waterworld and +heaven event rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steven Canning
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In our first game we drew an aftershock event (Big Whack) that with the following event had 4 smite events. This caused every refugia in play to be discarded and the ocean deck was empty.

The next event was Tropical Waterworld which rendered the continental landmass inactive.

The next event was Hydrocarbon Fog which specified that the ocean and continental be active and had a +heaven card. Now the ocean deck was empty, so we move to the next lower one, but that is inactive. The next lower one is the continental landmass that has the Tropical Waterworld card on it.

Now, the rules for the Tropical Waterworld card say that the deck is inactive and to skip the deck for +earth events. Isn't this redundant? If it is inactive shouldn't we skip both +earth and +heaven events? Why is +earth specifically called out here?

Anyway, we played that nothing came out. But this led to 3 turns in a row of no possible actions and led us to question our understanding of the rules.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Gastonguay
United States
Pottstown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Act Three! Everybody Dies!
Avatar
mb
Yeah, it's redundant. Just pointing it out because it's usually first for +earth events.

And yes, that was a bad chain of events to cause a really, really harsh earth. It happens.

Remember there are 3 refugia that are immune to smite events, so at least those are playable, but I'm guessing you guys already gobbled those up into bacteria.

6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.