Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Tally Ho!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Obvious? question: empty space clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tim Tucker
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
A question that came up when playing the game for the first time last night that seemed oddly omitted in the rules: what is the definition of an empty space?

Are empty spaces only spaces without a tile?
Do tiles that have not been flipped over count as empty?

We played with any space lacking a tile or with the tile not flipped over counting as an empty space, which seemed to overly favor the hunters in the early state of the board.

Conversely, only counting spaces that have no tiles as empty would seem to severely limit early movement possibilities.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Corrigan
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
[[img]https://boardgamegeek.com/jswidget.php?username=Krsnaji&numitems=5&header=1&text=title&images=medium&show=recentplays&imagesonly=1&imagepos=left&inline=1&addstyles=1&domains%5B%5D=boardgame&imagewidget=1[/img]
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If there is something in a space it is not empty.

Merrian-Webster Definition of empty:
1 a : containing nothing <empty shelves>
b : not occupied or inhabited <an empty building>

Mind you, if you capture an animal, as you enter a space, it is removed from the board and the spaced in which said critter (including a human critters) formally occupied is now "empty".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Tucker
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Was summarizing the issue from memory -- I took another look at the official rules:
http://www.thamesandkosmos.com/manuals/full/691837_tallyho_m...

Under Game Preparation it refers to leaving "the center space empty" and to "game board spaces" -- so far so good.

Going to the section "Move a face-up tile" is where the problem came in:
"For the tiles you are allowed to move, you can move only in a straight-line direction and only through empty tiles."

Which was what ultimately led to the line of questioning:
- What is an empty tile?
- Is an empty tile the same as an empty space?
- Is a tile that doesn't depict anything on it (i.e.: a tile that hasn't been turned over) empty?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Corrigan
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
[[img]https://boardgamegeek.com/jswidget.php?username=Krsnaji&numitems=5&header=1&text=title&images=medium&show=recentplays&imagesonly=1&imagepos=left&inline=1&addstyles=1&domains%5B%5D=boardgame&imagewidget=1[/img]
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I must confess, I do not know what empty could mean other than there is no tile there.
You can not move through a tile. Tile a through move not can you." said the Hare.
Perhaps when they say "tile" here everyone has understood (but you) that in this context they mean a "tile space"- as in the square in which the tiles can go. Perhaps you are a rather bright and literal fellow who may have a future, not in law, but in symbolic logic. But be that as it may, have fun. Know this game does have a large luck element and you should play two games and swap sides and then compare your score totals. Have fun
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.