Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Aeon's End» Forums » Rules

Subject: Amethyst shard question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Automatische Piloot
Netherlands
Beverwijk
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The effect states:
Gain 1 aether
Any ally may draw a card and then discard a card.

Does this mean that if any ally chooses to draw a card he/she MUST also discard a card or is discarding optional.

I tend to think that he/she must discard due to the absence of the word 'may' after 'and then' ... 'discard a card'.

What do you guys think?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Price
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mb
Autopiloot wrote:
The effect states:
Gain 1 aether
Any ally may draw a card and then discard a card.

Does this mean that if any ally chooses to draw a card he/she MUST also discard a card or is discarding optional.

I tend to think that he/she must discard due to the absence of the word 'may' after 'and then' ... 'discard a card'.

What do you guys think?


You are correct about the effect and the grammar behind it.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.