Star Trek: Ascendancy» Forums » General

Subject: Star Trek: Ascendancy - The BORG? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonathan K

Texas
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm very excited to play this game! I've been eyeing it for a couple months now and ordered it this week. It should arrive today and going to play it with friends tomorrow.

I just have to ask though... Why were the Borg not chosen as an expansion race?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob D
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't think the Borg fit the aesthetic of making alliances, etc., as they are a viral race.

HOWEVER, I DO think they would make an OUTSTANDING add-on to the game as an AI race causing havoc that the players would be forced to deal with, perhaps even unite over.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Markus Weihrauch
Germany
Frankfurt
Hessen
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
In Voyager the Borg did form an alliance with the Federation against Species 8472 and the Queen seems to be open for agreements... maybe not necessarily a trade agreement but this can be ruled with specific trade cards.

I really hope to see the Borg as playable faction!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffrey
United States
flag msg tools
Make it so
badge
Captain Picard
mbmbmbmbmb
There's a youtube video where one of the designers talks about the Borg, among a few other ideas for expansions. His idea was that the Borg would be an NPC race.

Edit: Here it is
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TtvOIvcAXHA
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dana R.
United States
Claremont
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
badge
Devotium Popcornicus
mbmbmbmbmb
The Borg would fit much better in Fleet Captains and that never happened I doubt it would here.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shrouded In Mystery
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb