Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Unhappy King Charles!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Joinig brigade from besieging fortress rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
VtzzRDX VtzzRDX
msg tools
If i'm not mistaken there is a rule , that if an Army attack enemy Army besieging fortress with brigade in it , brigade fom fortress can join attacking Army increasing its strength .
But . What if attacking Army already got brigades filling its limit ?

For example :
In Bristol there is one Parlament brigade.
Morice besieging Bristol.
Waller with 4 brigades attacks Morice .
Morice fights with 5 or with only 4 brigades ?

I saw an answer below : https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1470596/picking-brigade-mas... , but i am not sure this is case where brigade is over limit
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim P.
United States
Thousand Oaks
CA
flag msg tools
Visit the Wargame Bootcamp guild
badge
Muppet !
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

This is covered in 14.6 Battles in Siege Areas


The choice for the besieging Army (Maurice) is to:
(a) Lift the Siege (remove the Siege Marker) and fight the Battle.
Maurice fights with 5 brigade in this example.
(b) Fight without the number of Brigades necessary to maintain the Siege (the garrison is not used in Battle in this case).
Maurice fights with 4 brigade in this example.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Viktor Bednov
msg tools
Sorry , Tim I'm not sure that I got it right .
I mean Morice can be with any number of brigades ( one or two or more ) . But if he lift the siege he fights AGAINST five brigades even though Waller can command only four .
Right ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim P.
United States
Thousand Oaks
CA
flag msg tools
Visit the Wargame Bootcamp guild
badge
Muppet !
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

When you fight a battle ALL brigades in the area are counted. They do not have to be in an army.

The garrison brigade counts in the battle (if it is not masked by Maurice)
Yet it does not automatically join Wallers Army.

When Waller moves into the siege area, he does not get the option to pick up the besieged brigade. When the battle is declared, then Maurice decides if he will mask the fortress, after that choice is made the number of brigades is determined.

Make sense ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
VtzzRDX VtzzRDX
msg tools
Absolutely ! Thank you
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.