Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

DOOM: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Armor and drawing a card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
michael edwards
United States
South Carolina
flag msg tools
When you use the armor card as a reaction it states to draw a card after you apply the 2 armor. Does the card you draw go into your hand to play as something else, or does its potential defense in the upper right corner get added to the defense the armor card gives you?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jordan S.
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You draw the stated card into your hand. You do not apply any defense icons in the upper right corner of that card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Cross
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Webhead123 wrote:
You draw the stated card into your hand. You do not apply any defense icons in the upper right corner of that card.

But do you still draw your normal defense card after that at all?
Can you draw a defense card and then play the armor for additional defense?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jordan S.
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Garstig wrote:
But do you still draw your normal defense card after that at all?
Can you draw a defense card and then play the armor for additional defense?

Actually, you're required to reveal your defense card first, then you may play Armor if desired. Armor is a Reaction card which is used "while defending". In the Attack Overview on page 16 of the Learn to Play guide and page 4 of the Rules Reference, it details the steps followed when resolving an attack:

1. Declare Defender
2. Roll Dice
3. Reveal Defense
4. Apply "While Defending" Effects
5. Apply "While Attacking" Effects
6. Assess Damage

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Cross
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Beautiful. Thank you!
I had to learn to play quickly on a whim.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jordan S.
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My pleasure!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.