Scott Mansfield
United States
Bend
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm new to the game and am loving it! I have a good handle on the Riverine movement rules for the most part but get hung up on specific situations. The question I have is about the letter codes within each port space. Do I follow the codes when checking whether the Union has river control or the physical river depiction. My example is as follows, With a CSA fort in Paducah, KY and CSA fort in Evansville, IN may a CSA force move out of Paducah, KY into Cairo, IL if the Union has no fort in Cairo (see picture at the bottom)

I asked about the letter codes or physical river depiction because under rule 6.62 example B it states if the CSA had a fort in St Louis, Vincennes and Louisville than the CSA would deny Union river control over Cairo and thus a CSA force could move from Paducah into Cairo. But Paducah only has the river letter codes or Ohio(O) and Tennessee(T) so if the CSA denies control over these rivers into Paducah at Evansville and Paducah proper isn't that enough to cross the Paducah river crossing blue line, for there is no (M) or (W) river codes in Paducah. The rulebook example lists Vincennes, but the Wabash(W) River doesn't flow into Paducah as per the letter codes but does if going by the physical river depiction.

I guess the main question is are the space letter codes or the physical river depictions (as the enter or circumnavigate a space) used when determining Union river control?

I'm well aware that this space on the map is the most confusing for riverine rule implementation.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Mansfield
United States
Bend
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Does the Wabash(W) flow into Paducah?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rubin
United States
Trenton
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge