Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Mare Nostrum: Empires» Forums » Rules

Subject: replacing a unit that is converting a province rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Seb
msg tools
case:
1 unit is allready placed on an influence token of a province in order to convert it at the end of the turn
Can I move that unit to an other province, and move another unit into that first province in order to convert it at the end of the turn ?

In other word, does the unit that is converting a province has to be the physically same unit token during the all process of conversion ?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vid Dles
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
I don't think this is a possible scenario.

If you have a unit on an influence token of a province, then you've already performed your movement for the turn.

Also, conversion does not happen at the end of the turn; it happens at the beginning of the next move and battle phase.

So, the actual order of events for a move and battle phase should look like this:

1. If you have any legions on opponent's provincial control markers, replace those control markers with your own.
2. Perform all of your sea movements
3. Perform all of your land movements
4. Perform all of your battles
5. Perform all of your conquests (in provinces that are controlled by someone else and all of the units in it are yours). This is the point where the legion would be placed on the control marker to be converted at the beginning of the next move and battle phase.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Martins
Canada
Mississauga
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
viddy wrote:
conversion does not happen at the end of the turn; it happens at the beginning of the next move and battle phase.


Depends on whether you're using the English/German rules or the French rules. According to this thread Translation differences:

French rules: If your legion is still on the control marker at the end of your next M&B Phase, and these 3 conditions are fulfilled, you may exchange it to your own:
-your unit is still on the control marker
-you are still the conqueror in this province
-the province is adjacent or adjoining to another province of yours.

So it would be possible for someone to use their M&B turn before you to defeat the legion you had from last turn but then you re-conquer the province and place your legion there again during your M&B turn but I think this should trigger the start of a new conversion rather than complete the prior one.

BTW, according to that thread, Asyncron Games has stated that the French rules are the correct ones.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thaddeus MacTaggart
Netherlands
Almere Buiten
Flevoland
flag msg tools
badge
Blood Rage fan - Raven Clan
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
viddy wrote:
1. If you have any legions on opponent's provincial control markers, replace those control markers with your own.
2. Perform all of your sea movements
3. Perform all of your land movements
4. Perform all of your battles
5. Perform all of your conquests (in provinces that are controlled by someone else and all of the units in it are yours). This is the point where the legion would be placed on the control marker to be converted at the beginning of the next move and battle phase.

I don't really see the OP's situation happen under the English rules where it says the territory you started to convert is yours if it is still having your conquering unit on it when you start your next Move and Battle phase, so point 5 will be point 1.

"If at the beginning of a Conqueror's future Move and Battle and turn this legion still occupies and opponent's Control Marker, he may exchange it with a Control Marker of his own at no cost. He is now this Province's new Controlling Player."


Must say the different language versions are annoying .. robot
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonas Kissling
Switzerland
Olten
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
viddy wrote:

2. Perform all of your sea movements
3. Perform all of your land movements
4. Perform all of your battles

Just a sidenote:
You first move AND THEN BATTLE with your ships, then move all land units and battle eith them...
And yes, there is a big difference bezween german/english and French rules as mentioned above...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thaddeus MacTaggart
Netherlands
Almere Buiten
Flevoland
flag msg tools
badge
Blood Rage fan - Raven Clan
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jonas21 wrote:
viddy wrote:

2. Perform all of your sea movements
3. Perform all of your land movements
4. Perform all of your battles

Just a sidenote:
You first move AND THEN BATTLE with your ships, then move all land units and battle eith them...
And yes, there is a big difference between german/english and French rules as mentioned above...

Agreed!

Must say that what this is concerned, the English rules make more sense. According to the French rules, you move your triremes, move land units with them - and then you can still lose your sea battles, which with hindsight would have made moving land units impossible?!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonas Kissling
Switzerland
Olten
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ha! Somewhere I've read that they even destroy the legions that went on the shipps with them if the shipps sank... Crazy!
Teowulff, I remember you from a good place! All the best for 2017
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel U. Thibault
Canada
Québec
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Teowulff wrote:
Jonas21 wrote:
viddy wrote:

2. Perform all of your sea movements
3. Perform all of your land movements
4. Perform all of your battles

Just a sidenote:
You first move AND THEN BATTLE with your ships, then move all land units and battle eith them...
And yes, there is a big difference between german/english and French rules as mentioned above...

Agreed!

Must say that what this is concerned, the English rules make more sense. According to the French rules, you move your triremes, move land units with them - and then you can still lose your sea battles, which with hindsight would have made moving land units impossible?!

Wrong.

4.1.1 Déplacement Maritime
Lors de la Phase Militaire d’un joueur, celui-ci déplace et combat avec ses Trirèmes d’abord, puis déplace et combat avec ses Légions.

Move and combat in French is the same as in English.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thaddeus MacTaggart
Netherlands
Almere Buiten
Flevoland
flag msg tools
badge
Blood Rage fan - Raven Clan
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Urhixidur wrote:
viddy wrote:

2. Perform all of your sea movements
3. Perform all of your land movements
4. Perform all of your battles
Wrong.

4.1.1 Déplacement Maritime
Lors de la Phase Militaire d’un joueur, celui-ci déplace et combat avec ses Trirèmes d’abord, puis déplace et combat avec ses Légions.

Move and combat in French is the same as in English.

So .. so mean viddy made a translation mistake?
Anyway: good that we cleared this up!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Boyd
United States
North Richland Hills
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We had this question come up in my game and I house ruled that it was okay to move the legion and replace it with a new one. The FAQ I read said the rule had been errata'd to be "control changes at end of move and battle". Is that not the case?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel U. Thibault
Canada
Québec
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Shurikn64 wrote:
case:
1 unit is allready placed on an influence token of a province in order to convert it at the end of the turn
Can I move that unit to an other province, and move another unit into that first province in order to convert it at the end of the turn ?

In other word, does the unit that is converting a province has to be the physically same unit token during the all process of conversion ?

Yes, the unit can be relieved. The game does not track units (of the same type) individually.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.