Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
1 Posts

Richard III: The Wars of the Roses» Forums » Variants

Subject: 6.9 Treachery Rolls variant rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nate Merchant
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In this variant, inspired by the Event card "Treachery" and MattDP's own Treachery variant, Treachery Rolls rules are not tied to battle actions as in the written rules (6.9), but instead are pre-battle actions, detailed below. In essence, these rules replace battle action Treachery Rolls with AP-driven pre-battle Treachery Rolls.

1. During any Card Phase (1.1), a player may spend 1 AP (the AP represents the expenditure of influence or treasure used to sway the targeted noble) to secretly choose one enemy Noble or Heir block from their enemy noble pool who they will target for a Treachery roll in that or in any future Turn. The targeted block is kept upright, facing the player just as it would on-map, in its own “Treachery tableau.” The enemy noble need not have been recruited yet.

2. At the start of any battle involving the opposing block, after all blocks in battle are exposed (6.1), the player may turn his own pre-selected version of the enemy noble block face-up and make one Treachery roll with the player’s King, Pretender, or Warwick block (present in that same space) as normal (6.9). This is technically a pre-battle action, and thus battle actions are NOT used for Treachery rolls.

3. There can only one Treachery roll per King/Pretender/Warwick per battle. Thus, there can only be three Treachery rolls in a turn, one made by each of the aforementioned leaders.

4. The timing order of Treachery Rolls is:
a. The Treachery Card Event
b. Defender's Treachery Rolls
c. Attacker's Treachery Rolls

5. If the targeted block is in the enemy Reserve, the Treachery roll must wait until the second round of combat, when the enemy Reserve is revealed and committed. If there is a timing issue, Defender rolls first.

6. If the roll is successful, the targeted block changes sides as in 6.9. If the roll is unsuccessful, the block in the player’s tableau is turned face-down. It may not again be used again during the same Campaign season unless the player spends another 1 AP in a subsequent Turn to turn the block upright again. Any nobles in a player's Treachery tableau remain there, upright or face down, even if the opposing enemy noble block has been killed on-board.

7. During 8.0 Political Turn, all blocks in a player’s “Treachery tableau” are turned upright (if they are not already), facing the player, thus allowing the player to make more (free) Treachery rolls targeting those nobles as above in the following Campaign season, with the same results for success or failure. A player may always pay 1 AP to “refresh” a block after an unsuccessful roll in a previous Turn in order to target that block again in a subsequent Turn.

8. Once a player’s noble has defected to the enemy, that player’s version of the block is removed from the board, placed face-down in the recruitment pool, and may NOT be used for a Treachery roll that Campaign season. Thus, a noble block may only change sides three times during the game, once per Campaign season.

9. The Warwick rule 6.91 is still in effect as normal. If Warwick is converted by the King or Pretender in a battle, he may NOT make a roll for his new faction that turn. ALL Warwick, Kent, and Salisbury blocks are removed from play when the on-board version is killed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.