Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Conflict of Heroes: Awakening the Bear! (second edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: facing and close combat? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
eric magill
United States
russellville
Arkansas
flag msg tools
Does facing matter in close combat? If your opponent is in the same hex with you but you are facing 180 degrees the other way do you have to pivot before you can engage him in close combat, potentially giving him the chance to attack you before you can attack him. thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Facing doesn't apply in close combat. Facing only applies when attacking an enemy within the attacking unit's "Arc of Fire" (rule 6.1).
Regardless, your opponent WILL have the chance to attack you first anyway, as moving into the hex takes up your action!

Unless you have the card that allows you to take two actions in a row.

(Edit: Note that while facing doesn't apply in CC, it is the target's Flank Defense Rating that's used to resolve the attack, regardless of facing. An important rule easy to overlook).

Reference: 2ed Rulebook, page 6 Rule 5.4; page 7, Rule 6.1; and page 9, Rule 7.7.3

5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
eric magill
United States
russellville
Arkansas
flag msg tools
Well that changed everything. Calvary charges in Poland a whole lot less effective now. thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

That's why it's usually best to engage in Close Combat only with an enemy unit that's already spent! That might not matter, depending on how many CAP points your opponent has available to take an action with that spent unit, or if he might have a card that allows him to take an action with the spent unit.

But still.... save your Close Combat engagements for the enemy's spent units!

Also, as I firmly believe that all answers to rules questions should be supported with a rules reference or a designer quote, I went back and added that to my original reply.

9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Baker
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
CC can often be used to finish off units that have already taken a hit. Not only will a 2nd hit inflict a kill, but many of the hit markers reduce the attack rating of the target so that an counter attack by that unit may not be effective. Another idea is to attack with more than one unit using a group action (2nd Edition AtB 9.1). Unlike a long range fire against a target stack, which effects all units in the target hex, CC is used against only one target in a stack (2nd Edition AtB 7.7.3), so if you do a group move into the target hex, the counter-fire will only hit one of your units, and the other one will get to attack (assuming, of course, that you have sufficient APs remaining). Finally, look for units such as MGs and crewed weapons that have a reduced attack value in close combat (white box around the AR in AtB 2nd Edition - rule 7.7.3). These are easier targets.

Charging a fresh target is always chancy, but a damaged and/or spent target is a much easier prey.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.