Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Advanced Squad Leader: Starter Kit #1» Forums » Rules

Subject: Some newbie questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James C
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Picked this up for Christmas and looking forward to our first play.
Watched some of the tutorial videos and read the rules.
We have some questions though and would love help with them.
The references are to the ASLSK rulebook.

3.1(e): does the +1 self-rally penalty apply to leaders as well?

3.2.1: a wounded SMC only suffers an IPC of 0 and cannot doubletime? The penalties to morale level and leadership modifier only accrue upon a subsequent wound?

3.3.1: defensive first fire permits an attack upon each counter that expends a movement point, or upon each counter per movement point spent? Same question with regard to FPF (understanding that certain restrictions apply to FPF targeting). I'm struggling with these sentences from page 7 of the rulebook: "A unit that survives a Defensive First Fire attack unharmed can be fired upon again in that same location during MPh before expending additional MF, but only by different attackers or if it expended at least 2 MF in that hex. The same unit or SW can never Defensive First Fire on a moving unit in the same location more times than the number of MF expended in that location during the MPh." Finally, the qualifier "unharmed" suggests that a unit harmed by DFF cannot be fired upon again in that same location. Why not?

4.3: "A DC that is operably placed during the MPh attacks in the AFPh on the original IFt DR less than 12....". What exactly does this mean? Is an initial roll made to see if the DC attacks or not, then a subsequent roll made on the IFT to determine the results of the roll? Or is this the same one roll?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Cunningham
United States
Milford
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Professor X wrote:
Picked this up for Christmas and looking forward to our first play.
Watched some of the tutorial videos and read the rules.
We have some questions though and would love help with them.
The references are to the ASLSK rulebook.

3.1(e): does the +1 self-rally penalty apply to leaders as well?


Yes, unless there is another Good Order leader in the location to help rally the broken leader.

Professor X wrote:
3.2.1: a wounded SMC only suffers an IPC of 0 and cannot doubletime? The penalties to morale level and leadership modifier only accrue upon a subsequent wound?


The moral level and leadership modifier are applied with the first wounding. Additional wounds do not reduce the moral or leadership further.

Professor X wrote:
3.3.1: defensive first fire permits an attack upon each counter that expends a movement point, or upon each counter per movement point spent? Same question with regard to FPF (understanding that certain restrictions apply to FPF targeting). I'm struggling with these sentences from page 7 of the rulebook: "A unit that survives a Defensive First Fire attack unharmed can be fired upon again in that same location during MPh before expending additional MF, but only by different attackers or if it expended at least 2 MF in that hex. The same unit or SW can never Defensive First Fire on a moving unit in the same location more times than the number of MF expended in that location during the MPh." Finally, the qualifier "unharmed" suggests that a unit harmed by DFF cannot be fired upon again in that same location. Why not?


Each unit per movement point spent. Not sure why "unharmed" is in there. You can fire again upon at a broken unit. Of course, if it is KIA there won't be anything left to shoot.

Professor X wrote:
4.3: "A DC that is operably placed during the MPh attacks in the AFPh on the original IFt DR less than 12....". What exactly does this mean? Is an initial roll made to see if the DC attacks or not, then a subsequent roll made on the IFT to determine the results of the roll? Or is this the same one roll?


Just one roll, but if that roll is a 12 then the result is a dud.

Hope that helps,
Dan
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James C
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
More on 3.3.1

An attacker moves during MPh, spending 2 MFs to do so.
3 defending units have LOS and are in range.
Each can fire upon the attacker's counter 2x, until the counter is harmed?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James C
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Chee wrote:
Professor X wrote:
Picked this up for Christmas and looking forward to our first play.
Watched some of the tutorial videos and read the rules.
We have some questions though and would love help with them.
The references are to the ASLSK rulebook.

3.1(e): does the +1 self-rally penalty apply to leaders as well?


Yes, unless there is another Good Order leader in the location to help rally the broken leader.

Professor X wrote:
3.2.1: a wounded SMC only suffers an IPC of 0 and cannot doubletime? The penalties to morale level and leadership modifier only accrue upon a subsequent wound?


The moral level and leadership modifier are applied with the first wounding. Additional wounds do not reduce the moral or leadership further.

Professor X wrote:
3.3.1: defensive first fire permits an attack upon each counter that expends a movement point, or upon each counter per movement point spent? Same question with regard to FPF (understanding that certain restrictions apply to FPF targeting). I'm struggling with these sentences from page 7 of the rulebook: "A unit that survives a Defensive First Fire attack unharmed can be fired upon again in that same location during MPh before expending additional MF, but only by different attackers or if it expended at least 2 MF in that hex. The same unit or SW can never Defensive First Fire on a moving unit in the same location more times than the number of MF expended in that location during the MPh." Finally, the qualifier "unharmed" suggests that a unit harmed by DFF cannot be fired upon again in that same location. Why not?


Each unit per movement point spent. Not sure why "unharmed" is in there. You can fire again upon at a broken unit. Of course, if it is KIA there won't be anything left to shoot.

Professor X wrote:
4.3: "A DC that is operably placed during the MPh attacks in the AFPh on the original IFt DR less than 12....". What exactly does this mean? Is an initial roll made to see if the DC attacks or not, then a subsequent roll made on the IFT to determine the results of the roll? Or is this the same one roll?


Just one roll, but if that roll is a 12 then the result is a dud.

Hope that helps,
Dan


Thank you very much! That really helps a lot!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dane Patterson
United States
South Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
Disregard the phrase "Until the counter is harmed".
You can shoot at it regardless of the outcomes (until it's dead, at which point there's no target, right?). Two times per firer, yes.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Horner
United Kingdom
Forres
Moray
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
James welcome to the great game of ASL

Jay Richardson has written a great tutorial which is available to download in the files section of the SK1 page. I found this to be a great help in clarifying some of the rules. Hope this helps.





 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Schmittgens
United States
Wichita
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Professor X wrote:
More on 3.3.1

An attacker moves during MPh, spending 2 MFs to do so.
3 defending units have LOS and are in range.
Each can fire upon the attacker's counter 2x, until the counter is harmed?


You also need part of 3.2.

First, if the units are in the same hex, they must fire as a single group, not individually. Fourth paragraph of 3.2, last line.

Second, if a unit fires more than once, all shots after the first are Area Fire (halved). First paragraph, second sentence. Third paragraph of 3.31 reinforces this.

Note that these items are in the Pre Fire paragraph, but also apply to Defensive Fire.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James C
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you once again everyone.
One nagging ambiguity:

If a unit spends two movement factors in one hex, is that all the defense fire attacks it will be subjected to (two)?

Or rather can every eligible defender make two attacks upon that unit?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Professor X wrote:
Or rather can every eligible defender make two attacks upon that unit?


Correct!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.