Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Harry Potter: Hogwarts Battle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Search discard pile with no discard pile rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bryan Beacraft
United States
California
flag msg tools
This is our first card game, so apologies if this seems stupid. A player has just defeated a villain or played a card that allows everyone to search their discard pile for X and put it in their hand. If a player has no discard pile because they needed the cards for their draw pile, are they just out of luck?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Worley
United States
St Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yup. It's unfortunate, but happens from time to time.

Remember, that the order in which you play your cards is important, as different abilities can be triggered/maximized depending on the order in which they are played.

I've found that the above scenario you presented can sometimes be mitigated if you play the cards in your hand in a particular order and are able to avoid shuffling your discard pile into your draw pile until later in the turn.
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Taylor
United Kingdom
FARINGDON
Oxfordshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
swirlsaepi wrote:
Yup. It's unfortunate, but happens from time to time.

Remember, that the order in which you play your cards is important, as different abilities can be triggered/maximized depending on the order in which they are played.

I've found that the above scenario you presented can sometimes be mitigated if you play the cards in your hand in a particular order and are able to avoid shuffling your discard pile into your draw pile until later in the turn.


Also you can luck out the other way around. Some Dark Arts effects and villains make you reveal the top card of you deck. If you don't currently have a deck, then awesome.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Beacraft
United States
California
flag msg tools
Thanks for the reply. The situation we run into more often is where player A has ended their turn, needs to move their discard pilw to the draw pile to fill their new 5 card hand and then player B,C or D defeats a villain or plays a card that allows everyone to search their discard pile.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Worley
United States
St Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
negatrev wrote:
swirlsaepi wrote:
Yup. It's unfortunate, but happens from time to time.

Remember, that the order in which you play your cards is important, as different abilities can be triggered/maximized depending on the order in which they are played.

I've found that the above scenario you presented can sometimes be mitigated if you play the cards in your hand in a particular order and are able to avoid shuffling your discard pile into your draw pile until later in the turn.


Also you can luck out the other way around. Some Dark Arts effects and villains make you reveal the top card of you deck. If you don't currently have a deck, then awesome.


That's actually incorrect. If a Dark Arts or Villain effect requires you to interact with your draw pile, and you draw pile is currently empty, you would have to shuffle your discard pile and then reveal the top card of your newly created draw pile.
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.