Benjamin Potter
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
mb
Scenario: The Raptor player uses a card that takes the mother raptor off of the board, puts her back on, and then sees the Scientist player's next card before deciding which card to play. The question is, if the Raptor player sees the Scientist player playing an 8 card, could the Raptor player also play an 8 card and then see which card the Scientist player will play next, or is the Raptor player only able to see the first card, in this case the Scientist player's 8 card?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
[This space intentionally left blank]
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Benfromflorida wrote:
Scenario: The Raptor player uses a card that takes the mother raptor off of the board, puts her back on, and then sees the Scientist player's next card before deciding which card to play. The question is, if the Raptor player sees the Scientist player playing an 8 card, could the Raptor player also play an 8 card and then see which card the Scientist player will play next, or is the Raptor player only able to see the first card, in this case the Scientist player's 8 card?
The text of "Disappearance and Observation" says that the raptor player gets to see the scientist's card before choosing which card to play during the next turn.
The rules say a round (the rules seem to use round and turn interchangeably) is playing one card and ends with the players drawing new cards.

As such I believe that the raptor player can not chose to defer their advantage by playing the card with the same value as the scientist.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
Abdullah Ibrahim and Ekaya - Sotho Blue
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Benfromflorida wrote:
Scenario: The Raptor player uses a card that takes the mother raptor off of the board, puts her back on, and then sees the Scientist player's next card before deciding which card to play. The question is, if the Raptor player sees the Scientist player playing an 8 card, could the Raptor player also play an 8 card and then see which card the Scientist player will play next, or is the Raptor player only able to see the first card, in this case the Scientist player's 8 card?

You already saw the next card, and used that knowledge when you chose to play a card of the same value. I don't understand why you'd think you might get to see another card and get to choose based on prior knowledge two turns in succession.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Spider Jerusalem
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sphere wrote:
Benfromflorida wrote:
Scenario: The Raptor player uses a card that takes the mother raptor off of the board, puts her back on, and then sees the Scientist player's next card before deciding which card to play. The question is, if the Raptor player sees the Scientist player playing an 8 card, could the Raptor player also play an 8 card and then see which card the Scientist player will play next, or is the Raptor player only able to see the first card, in this case the Scientist player's 8 card?

You already saw the next card, and used that knowledge when you chose to play a card of the same value. I don't understand why you'd think you might get to see another card and get to choose based on prior knowledge two turns in succession.


I suspect the OP thinks that, because the two 8 cards cancel each other out and no one "plays" a card, that the ability isn't triggered.

That isn't the case. The rules say that the scientist player must show you "which card has been selected before you choose yours". In other words, you've used up the 'observation' part of your ability, regardless of whether or not the effect of the scientist's card is resolved.
In fact, one of the great things about 'Disappearance and Observation' is that, by knowing which card the scientist is going to play, it minimizes the risk of your playing a card for its effect and ending up getting actions points instead and vice-versa.
Or you can decide to cancel's the scientist's card by playing your matching card...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.