Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

No Retreat! Italian Front: 1943-45» Forums » Rules

Subject: rules/cards clarifications needed rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
JOE LIBRANDI
United States
Peoria
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm playing through the historical campaign, and have reached turn 16, but I've run across some rule situations that seem fuzzy to me:

1) Kesselring's Initiative trait- does this mean that all Leader Replacement check cards (skull/crossbones symbol) are ignored on turn 12? Are the Initiative Sudden Death Checks just ignored as well?

2) DEMOLITIONS card #27 and LUFTWAFFE RAID card #15- how does eliminating a port hurt the Allies when they can just replace the port during the Allied Port Supply Phase?

3) Are event VPs earned if OOS units Surrender?

4) During a Sudden Death Victory Check, if none of the three conditions are met, does B. Main Leader Not Yet Replaced occur, or must the side have the required number of VPs first?

5) Can an invasion take place if only one Landings marker remains, since 13.6.4 says half of the invaders must be British and half US? Or does just one side then make the invasion?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1- Yes, all are ignored.

2- Rule 22.3 states that when eliminated Ports come back as reinforcements 3 Turns later. So if all Ports are already in use you will not be able to replace it right away. So keep one in reserve!

3- Yes. Check Rule 20.2 first bullet.

4- You must have the required number of VPs first.

5- Good question! Yes you can do the invasion. Use one side only. The rule does says you "round up" the total (blue box at the end of the rule), see below.

The rule 13.6.4 text says:

"During the Invasion turn, half of the invading
units (rounded up) must be from one group, and the
remaining half from the other."


So for a one-unit invasion, half (rounded up) is one unit. The remaining half is thus zero... meeple
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JOE LIBRANDI
United States
Peoria
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, Carl.

1) So I assume that you would still go through the steps of the Initiative Switch process, but the German player would just ignore an Allied Sudden Death victory (step E) correct?

2) If you are playing the Basic Rules, you would only need place two Active Ports for supply (one US, one British) so why would there be more ports than that in use?

Have a Happy New Year.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
joe6778 wrote:
Thanks, Carl.

1) So I assume that you would still go through the steps of the Initiative Switch process, but the German player would just ignore an Allied Sudden Death victory (step E) correct?

2) If you are playing the Basic Rules, you would only need place two Active Ports for supply (one US, one British) so why would there be more ports than that in use?

Have a Happy New Year.


1) Yes, absolutely correct.

2) Well, if you have beachheads you need more ports! Ang given the relatively poor road network in Italy you might need quite a few of these now and then. But, true, usually the Allies will not have Port problems in the Basic game.

Happy New Year! meeple
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcos Souza
Brazil
flag msg tools
licinius wrote:

2- Rule 22.3 states that when eliminated Ports come back as reinforcements 3 Turns later. So if all Ports are already in use you will not be able to replace it right away. So keep one in reserve!

:meeple:


Interesting! But, during Operation Diadem, does the Allied side have any port in reserve? Because the Allied just lost the port of Anzio at the first round...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Åkerlund
Sweden
Vallentuna
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Markos wrote:
licinius wrote:

2- Rule 22.3 states that when eliminated Ports come back as reinforcements 3 Turns later. So if all Ports are already in use you will not be able to replace it right away. So keep one in reserve!

meeple


Interesting! But, during Operation Diadem, does the Allied side have any port in reserve? Because the Allied just lost the port of Anzio at the first round...

From the Scenario instructions: "Three Port markers are set up in any Port hexes on the Southern Italy map. Only one Port marker (Anzio) and two Landings markers are set up on the Central Italy map. The remaining Port and Landings markers are not used in the game.".

So no, they don't have any in reserve. However, you can always move one of the southern port markers to a more suitable port (via the reserves).

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcos Souza
Brazil
flag msg tools
Great! Thank you! The "Luftwaffe Raid" can change the war in Italy... As Allied, I hate this card... (smile)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.