BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: Card sleves...why? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Murray
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
So I'm pretty new to board gameing and own 12 games(and counting) with somewhat large footprints. I'm at that point of deciding if I should get sleves for my cards and I wonder if it's necessary. My cards are all in ziplocks now anyway. Why am I buying card sleves, to protect them when I spill my beer on the table? Won't my board and tokens be damaged anyway? It will cost me almost $100 to get all the sleves needed for my games and for that price I can get a new game with $ money left over....however, am I just building up the price for when I do get the card sleves? What to do...

Thoughts and opinions please...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Darcy
Australia
Blue Mountains
New South Wales
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I tried sleeving and gave it up after a while. Though the ones I sleeved still are.

Reasons to sleeve:
1. Expensive cards that are an "investment" Magic the Gathering comes to mind here.
2. To protect from, not so much the beer on the table, but the melted chocolate on the hands
3. Cards that get a lot of shuffling WILL get damaged/bent sooner or later. Sleeves will delay the inevitable.
4. If you want to add cards that are a bit different (e.g. home printed - PnP, or a different edition that are cut slightly different) then sleeves will help disguise the differences. Especially ones with opaque backs.

Reasons not to sleeve.
1. harder to shuffle. For the life of me I cannot riffle shuffle sleeved cards. That may just be me.
2. They are slippery - difficult to stack in a pile. This eases with use.
3. They may not fit back in the box. Sleeved cards are bigger than unsleeved ones.
4. Cost. Though a $5 box of sleeves is cheaper than a $50 game. $100 is a LOT of sleeves. I bet the games you are protecting cost a lot more than $100 to replace.