Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Enter Play -- Setup? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Enon Sci
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Will cards that are placed during set-up trigger "enter play" conditionals?

Why I asked:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
regarding Acolyte's forced doom and scenario two. Not sure if scenario two should start with doom in play or not.


Thanks.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Shudde M'ell
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Rob
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AFAIK, that's been a standard in all FFG LCG.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Enon Sci
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Robrob wrote:
AFAIK, that's been a standard in all FFG LCG.


You mean Lord of the Rings, yes? I can't think of another one that would call for such set-up variance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Robinson
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Robrob wrote:
AFAIK, that's been a standard in all FFG LCG.


Doesn't work this way in AGOT 2.0 lcg.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mplain
Russia
flag msg tools
mbmb
Official answer here: http://www.cardgamedb.com/forums/index.php?/topic/33253-freq...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Williams
United States
Vista
CA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mplain wrote:

And to emphasize:
Quote:
So anything that is being added to the play area during setup is still “entering play.” While this may not [emphasis mine] generally be the case in our competitive LCGs, it is crucial for cooperative games like Arkham and Lord of the Rings to allow for abilities to trigger during setup.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arkham Chronicle
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Enon.

If you are unsure about scenario setup we have lots of lovely videos about them that answer just these sorts of questions.

Zealot 2: https://youtu.be/OuZU4IRK8m4
Zealot 3: https://youtu.be/6kiXcXK7hsE
Curse of the Rougarou: https://youtu.be/tlibd6z3Dcg
Carnevale of Horrors: https://youtu.be/dGl5KONGcUQ

We hope you find them helpful.

The Arkham Chronicle Gang
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Enon Sci
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
trilamb wrote:
Robrob wrote:
AFAIK, that's been a standard in all FFG LCG.


Doesn't work this way in AGOT 2.0 lcg.


Right, and I'm pretty sure that was true with AGOT 1.0, which is what trained my sensibilities. Set-up items aren't considered to have been played, hence they never "enter play" because play condition doesn't start till the overall game begins.

I'm unsure of how Netrunner handles this, as you almost never have revealed cards in your tableau at game start, unless more recent cycles have changed that.

All that said, I was happy to have gotten this answered before the first agenda advanced (I posted this thread at the start of a session). We played with the set-up conditions having entered play, so I'm on board.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.