Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

XCOM: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Assets and Crisis Cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nick Dotzenrod
United States
Novi
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can assets be used more than once? For example, can you place multiple satellites on Satellite Nexus to move multiple UFOs?

Anything bad happen if you don't complete a crisis? For example, if you need to discard researched tech cards, but done have any?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francisco Gutierrez
United States
Burbank
California
flag msg tools
badge
"A pilot's greatest virtue is to know when to run" -- "What's this, a joke?"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The use of Assets is limited in a few way:
An asset may state it can only be used twice in a turn
An asset may state it is exhausted after being used, meaning it can only
be used once a turn, unless you have a way of unexhausting the card.
An asset may require you to spend something, like salvage, or place
something on the card, like soldiers. In this instance, you are limited
by your resources or avaliable pieces.

If I recall correctly, Satellite Nexus has no usage restriction beyond the avaliable satellites. So any satellite committed to the nexus is one which can't defend from orbit. In addition, exhausted satellites cannot be committed to assets, potentially, further limiting your supply.

There is no penalty for not being able to "complete" a crisis during the resolution phase. In fact, communicating with your team and realizing which cards can't affect you is good strategy. Keep in mind that crisis cards are resolved before many other actions are resolved so you may not be able to spend that salvage before you are forced to discard it.
Finally, there is a penalty, of sorts, for not resolving the crisis action during the timed phase. Since it's an alien action, you must do it, even if you run out of time, but during the next human action you will be given less time to complete it than usual.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.