Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Mench
United States
Fairfax
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
As a musician I've been in a life-long search for those aesthetic moments in performance where my emotions are taken to places I've never been or to that place where I like to be taken. They are rare, the really great ones. But they happen - and when they do, it is like a drug and you want more.

Board gaming also offers this same, but different, quest. When everything comes together in a game that will transport you to a place beyond the mechanics, rules and cardboard.

A few nights ago my 11yo wanted to play Stronghold 2nd with me. I played it once with his older brother. He wanted to defend, so I set out to teach him the rules.

Normally a heavy game like this is played and taught with me offering strategies and clarifications along the way. Almost like a street football game where I'm full-time quarterback for both sides. I'll play my side hard, but I'll also offer best options to beat me and explain why I made the advance I did and point out the weaknesses in his defense I was seeing and taking advantage of.

So we went through the 'hours' rules and then one pass through each of his rooms and a few descriptions of my attack abilities and rules... then we started.

To stop the narrative here... this was a game he was able to pick up very quickly. By round 5 he was almost convinced I'd beat him and he was able to swap defenders and make a critical snipe all on his own... then round 6... and by this time we were both so worked up and emotional he actually offered to end it in a tie and put it away. He had saved round 5 and I had to regroup in round 6 for a final assault in 7. I knew it was close and had really only two chances to win. He was convinced I'd win, I was convinced he'd figure how to save himself. We were both very invested.