Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Evolution: Climate» Forums » Rules

Subject: Long Neck/Foraging/Cooperation Multipiers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Josh Frantz
United States
Topeka
Kansas
flag msg tools
Time to get schwifty in here!
badge
I like what you got! Good job!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I just want to make sure my food math is right... Let's say I have two creatures (assume max population to simplify example). Creature A has foraging, long neck, and cooperation. To A's right is creature B with foraging, is this how it goes?

Creature A:
Long Neck = 1
Foraging = 1
Total = 2 from food bank

Creature B:
coop from Long Neck(A) = 1
Foraging(B) = 1
coop from Foraging(A) = 1
Foraging(B) = 1
Total = 4 from food bank

So essentially, my question is: does this combo of 4 traits between two creatures net 6 food each turn before food is even revealed?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierre Beri
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
A = long neck+foraging+cooperation = 1+1+cooperation —> B takes 1 food from the bank.
B = 1+foraging = 1+1.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron S
United States
Ventura
California
flag msg tools
I don't remember what I ate last night
badge
but I can spout off obscure rules to all sorts of game like nobody's business!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Foraging is not a separate feeding action, so doesn't trigger Cooperation on its own; it makes other feeding actions better. As Pierre states, both creatures will get 2 food.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ArcanumTL ArcanumTL
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello there - we ran in to a similar situation as well as we are not sure how many times Cooperation gets triggered. We had this example with 3 animals:

A (long neck+foraging+coop) - B (long neck+coop) + C (no traits)

Does the Coop on B also trigger twice and causes C to get food e.g.:

A - 1 (long neck) + 1 (forage) + Coop to B + Coop to C (caused by B's Coop)
B - 1 (Coop from A) + 1 (long neck) + Coop to C (from B's long neck)
C - 1 (Coop from A) and 1 (Coop from B)

Sorry if it is a bit confusing - we were not sure if the Cooperation chain reaction are multiplied on to C.

I assume this is similar to the nocturnal trait as well.

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron S
United States
Ventura
California
flag msg tools
I don't remember what I ate last night
badge
but I can spout off obscure rules to all sorts of game like nobody's business!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ArcanumTL wrote:
Hello there - we ran in to a similar situation as well as we are not sure how many times Cooperation gets triggered. We had this example with 3 animals:

A (long neck+foraging+coop) - B (long neck+coop) + C (no traits)

Does the Coop on B also trigger twice and causes C to get food e.g.:

A - 1 (long neck) + 1 (forage) + Coop to B + Coop to C (caused by B's Coop)
B - 1 (Coop from A) + 1 (long neck) + Coop to C (from B's long neck)
C - 1 (Coop from A) and 1 (Coop from B)

Sorry if it is a bit confusing - we were not sure if the Cooperation chain reaction are multiplied on to C.

I assume this is similar to the nocturnal trait as well.

Thanks!

This looks correct. Cooperation will trigger any time a creature takes food. Long Neck qualifies, and Cooperation triggers separately for each creature with it. I'd clear it up by doing it this way, but the end result is the same:

A (Long Neck, Foraging, Cooperation)
B (Long Neck, Cooperation)
C (X)

A= Take 2 food from Long Neck (+Foraging) and Cooperate with B
-B= Take 1 food from Cooperation with A and Cooperates with C
--C= Take food from Cooperation with B (via A)

B= Long Neck = Take 1 food and Cooperate with C
-C= Take 1 food from Cooperation with B
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierre Beri
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Correct. Just resolve both long necks one after the other.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Wilson
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
runtsta wrote:
Foraging is not a separate feeding action, so doesn't trigger Cooperation on its own; it makes other feeding actions better. As Pierre states, both creatures will get 2 food.


Huh, we played that wrong, then.

The wording of the cards ('any time this species eats plant food, take one additional food' and 'when this species takes food, your species to the right takes one food') definitely reads to me that Foraging takes a food, so Cooperation triggers because you took food.

Reference section is clear enough, though. I guess it's taking two food rather than taking one food twice?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dominic Crapuchettes
United States
Bethesda
MD
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
North Star Games designs party games that don't suck! Play them with your non-gamer friends over the holidays.
badge
First there was Hearts, then there was Spades, and now we bring you Clubs. The suit of clubs finally gets some respect!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The wording for Foraging was poor. I'm not sure how it slipped through the cracks. The wording on the next print run is currently slated to be:

Anytime this species takes Plant Food, increase the amount by 1.
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Péter Muhi
Hungary
Kecskemét
flag msg tools
mbmb
domcrap wrote:
The wording for Foraging was poor. I'm not sure how it slipped through the cracks. The wording on the next print run is currently slated to be:

Anytime this species takes Plant Food, increase the amount by 1.

Just to make sure, you do take the extra 1 Plant Food from the same source as the one(s) you've normally taken, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierre Beri
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Right
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.