Was George Orwell an Optimist?
Van Morrison and Joey DeFrancesco - You're Driving Me Crazy
Magnus Maximus wrote:
2) The new version says that only one unit may advance per combat, even if multiple hexes were vacated. The 1979 rules do not mention this, which I interpret to mean that if you attack more than one hex and they are vacated, you may advance into all of them if able.
I'm not particularly interested in Decision rules; if they changed a bunch of things I wish they'd split that version off into another folder. The way we played the SPI game, you couldn't have multiple attackers vs. multiple defenders in a single combat, so the scenario you're suggesting doesn't come up. (You could have multiple attackers against a single defender, or a single attacker against multiple defenders, but you couldn't just resolve a line of attackers against a line of defenders in one shot - it had to be broken up into multiple combats.)