Subject: Camels question from new player rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adrian Iwanczuk

Connecticut
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Hello,

My wife and I just started playing Jaipur last night. I don't know how often this happens, but every opening hand I had no camels to form a herd. My wife and I figured if I have no camels, how could I bring anything to market? Is this too strict an interpretation of the rules? Later in the game we also figured I couldn't exchange all the camels in my herd for goods in the marketplace by the same logic. Can someone explain if you need camels to trade or not? I found a lot of information about camels, but no one seems to have asked this question. Any help will be appreciated greatly.

Thanks,

Adrian

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerry Martin
United States
Loveland
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
1 Million Shogoths Killed and Counting.
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you might want to reread the rules and not add any extra "logic". You never "need" any camels.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donny Behne
United States
Fate
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
www.punchboardmedia.com/geaux-gaming/
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Definitely go back and check the rules from scratch. Camels are a way to get many goods at once. You can always just take one card from the market and refill it from the top of the deck.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daily Grind
United States
Raleigh
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
You only need camels if you're taking more than 1 good at a time, and even then you can use other goods from your hand rather than camels.

Also, if you start with no camels, as your action, you can take all the camels in the market to make your herd.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James C
United States
McLean
Virginia
flag msg tools
I think the OP was trying to make the theme matter. That's why he said he thought he needed the camels to take goods to the market and sell them.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide