Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Isle of Skye: From Chieftain to King» Forums » Rules

Subject: Help with scoring tiles for sheep and cattle VPs rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew Baddeley-Chappell
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
When scoring 1VP for each sheep and each cattle that is next to a farm, what happens if the animal is next to more than one Farm? Is each animal counted at most once or can it be counted more than once if near more than one farm?

Thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eli Lester
Romania
Bucharest
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My understanding of the rule is that each animal can only be scored once regardless of how many farms it borders.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.

This was discussed at great length in this thread: Multiple farms - do adjacent animals score for each?

One of the designers gave the following clarification: "Each animal scores one point if there is at least one farm on the same or an adjacent tile, including diagonal."

Note also that the tile itself illustrates 1 VP going to a sheep that is both on a farm and adjacent to a farm.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
badchap wrote:
When scoring 1VP for each sheep and each cattle that is next to a farm, what happens if the animal is next to more than one Farm? Is each animal counted at most once or can it be counted more than once if near more than one farm?

Thanks

As already noted, you're scoring the animals, not the farms they're next to.

Otherwise the wording would be "Each farm is worth VP equal to the number of sheep/cows on/adjacent to it."
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Mayes
Australia
flag msg tools
It makes sense to score only once per animal anyway, as it would prove to be a VERY powerful tile indeed if scored multiple times.

For example, we played this rule incorrectly yesterday, scoring animals for EVERY farm they were adjacent to and one player scored 30 points on the final round for their animals. Yes, we all had a chance to earn that number of points, but it makes that tile stupidly OP compared to the other three available.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryucoo
United Kingdom
Wokingham
Berkshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Is this animal adjacent or on a farm tile? Yes? It scores a point, move on to the next animal.

An animal adjacent to TWO farms, still falls under the umbrella of being 'adjacent to a farm', so would score 1 point, as described by the tile.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls