Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sascha Heib
Germany
München
flag msg tools
mbmb
Hi there,

I'm new to miniature painting and very excited to get my hands on the KDM miniatures. I've read alot about painting miniatures and watched many youtube videos. When it gets to colors, it almost comes down to personal preference.

I've decided to get Vallejo Colors and Citadel Shades. Which colors are must have? Almost every video i watched used Nuln Oil, Reikland Fleshshade and / or Agrax Earthshade to wash, so these 3 are definately on my buying list. But what about basic colors from vallejo? I want to paint the miniatures as close as possible to the artworks, so i guess, i'll have to get a lot of colors down the road.

But for the beginning, i'm looking for skintones and white / brown / yellow colors for the white lion and the cloths. Also, a blood-red is needed.

Will Vallejo suffice? Game or Model Color for beginners? Which colors?

I'm looking forward to your help.

Thanks so much in advance

Best regards,
Sascha

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wouter Dhondt
Belgium
Anzegem
flag msg tools
My armor is contempt. My shield is disgust. My sword is hatred. In the Emperor's name, let none survive.
badge
Song of my soul, my voice is dead; Die thou, unsung, as tears unshed. Shall dry and die in Lost Carcosa.
mbmbmbmbmb
Lots of models, so lots of colors to get. As you said yourself, the citadel washes are great. If you want blood (you mention blood-red) there is the khorne blood technical paint from citadel as well, which is awesome. Just make sure to apply it after the varnish.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eli Curtz
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
I believe Vallejo Game and Model colors are the same paint (or at least almost the same) just in different color ranges. Game colors are designed to match the GW offerings and model colors are for matching real world military designs.